Club Rugby

Sydney's Premier Club Rugby Competition

The Intrust Shute Shield is the premier club rugby competition in Australia and was struck in honour of the late Robert Elliot Stewart Shute.

Founded in 1924, the Intrust Super Shield Shield is Sydney’s premier grade rugby union competition, played from April to September. The trophy was established in honour of the late Robert Elliott Stewart Shute who passed away on June 5, 1922, following a match at Manly Oval.

The Shute Shield is awarded at the end of the Sydney Club Rugby season to the team that wins the Grand Final. The competition format currently involves an 18-week round-robin style, which is followed by a four-week playoff series culminating in the grand final.

The competition consists of twelve clubs around the Sydney region and since 2015, the channel seven network has broadcast Shute Shield’s match of the day each week. The tournament is currently sponsored by Intrust Super, who have supported the competition since 2015 and are signed until 2020.