14 Waratahs selected for Wallaroos final pool match against Wales

Wed, Oct 19, 2022, 11:33 PM
Waratahs Media
by Waratahs Media
Bridie O'Gorman has been recalled to the starting side for the Wallaroos final RWC pool match
Bridie O'Gorman has been recalled to the starting side for the Wallaroos final RWC pool match

Wallaroos head coach Jay Tregonning has named 14 Waratahs in his matchday 23 for Australia’s final Rugby World Cup pool match against Wales, this Saturday in Whangarei.

Hooker Tania Naden has been called up to the bench and is in line to make her debut, replacing Ashley Marsters in the squad after World Rugby handed down a suspension following the victory against Scotland.

Tighthead prop Bridie O’Gorman will re-join the starting front row, replacing Eva Karpani, who moves back to the reserves.

Michaela Leonard also returns to the starting side in the second row, alongside Atasi Lafai.

Wallaroos mainstays Emily Chancellor and captain Shannon Parry remain as the team's two flankers, while Grace Hamilton maintains her position at number eight.

“We were thrilled to get the win against Scotland over the weekend, but it hasn’t changed our approach to training,” Parry said.

“Our focus has remained on improving our discipline, and we’ve upheld last week’s theme of ‘whatever it takes’.

“Now we’ve had a taste of victory, the girls are hungry for more, and we’re eager for this weekend’s challenge.”

Scrum-half Iliseva Batibasaga and fly-half Arabella McKenzie have secured their positions in the starting XV for the third week in a row.

Ivania Wong replaces last week’s debutante, Maya Stewart, and joins powerhouse Bienne Terita on the wing.

19-year-old Terita - who has now scored five tries in just three matches for the Wallaroos - is joined by fellow Australian Rugby Sevens injection, Sharni Williams, who again partners Georgina Friedrichs in the centres.

Fullback Lori Cramer rounds out the starting side for the Wallaroos.

“The coaching staff and I have been impressed by Tania Naden’s determination during our time at the Rugby World Cup,” Tregonning said.

“Every direction, every adjustment we’ve suggested, she’s taken on board and actioned.

“Though we got the win last weekend, we left a lot of opportunities on the field, and that’s something we’re seeking to improve on this Saturday.”

The Wallaroos will sport their First Nations jerseys during their match against Wales.

The Australia v Wales Rugby World Cup game will kick off at 2:15pm NZDT (12:15pm AEDT) this Saturday, 22 October, at Northland Events Centre in Whangarei.

The match will be shown live, ad-free, and on-demand on Stan Sport.

Wallaroos team to play Wales at Northland Events Centre, Whangarei, on Saturday 22 October, 2:15pm NZDT / 12:15PM AEDT

  1. Liz Patu – Queensland Reds
  2. Adiana Talakai – New South Wales Waratahs
  3. Bridie O’Gorman – New South Wales Waratahs
  4. Michaela Leonard – ACT Brumbies
  5. Atasi Lafai – New South Wales Waratahs
  6. Emily Chancellor – New South Wales Waratahs
  7. Shannon Parry (C) – Queensland Reds
  8. Grace Hamilton – New South Wales Waratahs
  9. Iliseva Batibasaga – New South Wales Waratahs
  10. Arabella McKenzie – New South Wales Waratahs
  11. Ivania Wong – Queensland Reds
  12. Sharni Williams – Australian Rugby Sevens
  13. Georgina Friedrichs – New South Wales Waratahs
  14. Bienne Terita – Australian Rugby Sevens
  15. Lori Cramer – New South Wales Waratahs
  16. Tania Naden – ACT Brumbies
  17. Emily Robinson – New South Wales Waratahs
  18. Eva Karpani – New South Wales Waratahs
  19. Grace Kemp - ACT Brumbies
  20. Piper Duck – New South Wales Waratahs
  21. Layne Morgan – New South Wales Waratahs
  22. Trilleen Pomare - Western Force
  23. Pauline Piliae-Rasabale – New South Wales Waratahs