18 Waratahs selected in Wallaroos Rugby World Cup squad

Wed, Sep 7, 2022, 12:30 AM
Waratahs Media
by Waratahs Media

Wallaroos coach Jay Tregonning has announced his 32-player squad for Rugby World Cup, starting on 8 October in New Zealand.

The squad is captained by Shannon Parry – who plays in her fourth Rugby World Cup for the Wallaroos – and remains largely unchanged from the one that contested the O’Reilly Cup against New Zealand in August.

The only change sees Sharni Williams called into the squad for her fourth Rugby World Cup in the XVs format – the Olympic and Commonwealth Games Gold Medallist will compete in her second Rugby World Cup in the space of a month, after she plays in the Sevens event in Cape Town this month.

Likewise, Bienne Terita will join the squad fresh from Cape Town. The 19 year-old Sevens star scored two tries in her Wallaroos debut against the Black Ferns in Adelaide last month.

The wing position will be covered by Terita, Ivania Wong, Mahalia Murphy and Maya Stewart, while Pauline Piliae-Rasabale and Lori Cramer will share fullback duties.

Sharni Williams, Georgina Friedrichs, Cecilia Smith and Siokapesi Palu are the chosen Centres, with Arabella McKenzie and Trilleen Pomare the available options at fly-half.

Iliseva Batibasaga played in her first Rugby World Cup in 2006 and joins Layne Morgan as the scrum half options for the 2021 edition.

A strong back row quintet sees Captain Parry alongside Emily Chancellor, Grace Hamilton, Grace Kemp, and Piper Duck.

The front row options include props Liz Patu, Emily Robinson, Bree-Anna Cheatham, Madison Schuck, Bridie O’Gorman and Eva Karpani alongside Ashley Marsters, Adiana Talaki, and Tania Naden at the hooker position.

Michaela Leonard, Atasi Lafai, Sera Naiqama, and Kaitlan Leaney have been selected to lock the scrum.

“The named squad has experience and depth, and we are looking forward to showing our continued improvement at the Rugby World Cup,” Tregonning said.

“It is important to acknowledge the whole squad, including those that have missed out on selection.

“Although disappointed, the players that have missed out have continued to train hard in their state-based training sessions and are committed to helping make their teammates stronger.”

“We wish the Sevens team all the best in their World Cup in Cape Town this weekend and we are excited to have Sharni and Bienne as part of our squad at the conclusion of the tournament.”

In Pool A, the Wallaroos will line up against New Zealand, Scotland, and Wales, kicking off their campaign with a clash against the hosts to open the tournament on Saturday, 8 October, at Eden Park in Auckland.

The Wallaroos return to camp on the Gold Coast on 11 September, before travelling to New Zealand on 24 September.

The Rugby World Cup will be broadcast live, ad-free and on-demand on Stan Sport. Wallaroos squad for Rugby World Cup:

Wallaroos squad for Rugby World Cup:


  1. Liz Patu - Queensland Reds
  2. Emily Robinson - NSW Waratahs
  3. Bree-Anna Cheatham - Queensland Reds
  4. Madison Schuck - Queensland Reds
  5. Bridie O'Gorman - NSW Waratahs
  6. Eva Karpani - NSW Waratahs

Hookers 7. Ashley Marsters - Melbourne Rebels 8. Adiana Talakai - NSW Waratahs 9. Tania Naden – ACT Brumbies

Locks 10. Michaela Leonard - ACT Brumbies 11. Sera Naiqama - NSW Waratahs 12. Atasi Lafai - NSW Waratahs 13. Kaitlan Leaney - NSW Waratahs

Back Row 14. Shannon Parry (Captain) - Queensland Reds 15. Emily Chancellor - NSW Waratahs 16. Grace Hamilton - NSW Waratahs 17. Grace Kemp - ACT Brumbies 18. Piper Duck - NSW Waratahs

Half-Back 19. Iliseva Batibasaga - NSW Waratahs 20. Layne Morgan - NSW Waratahs

Fly- Half 21. Arabella McKenzie - NSW Waratahs 22. Trilleen Pomare – Western Force

Centres 23. Siokapesi Palu - ACT Brumbies 24. Cecilia Smith - Queensland Reds 25. Georgina Friedrichs - NSW Waratahs 26. Sharni Williams – Aussie 7s

Wings 27. Mahalia Murphy - NSW Waratahs 28. Ivania Wong - Queensland Reds 29. Bienne Terita - Aussie 7s 30. Maya Stewart - NSW Waratahs

Fullbacks 31. Pauline Piliae-Rasabale - NSW Waratahs 32. Lori Cramer - NSW Waratahs