Warringah and Uni dominate Catchpole Awards

· Shute Shield
by Waratahs Media

The Warringah five-eighth just beat out team mate Josh Holmes (13) for the award, with Dion Spice (12), Mack Mason (11), Kotoni Ale (11) and Connor Vest (11) in the top six of voting at season’s end.

Warringah boss, Mark Gerard was named Coach of the Year with the Rats also taking out the Sir Roden Cutler Shield.

Uni sharpshooter James Kane and Gordon’s Sean Kearns shared the Top Point Scorer mantle, while Michael Icely was named Rookie of the Year after a return of nine tries in 2019.

Matt Kellahan took out the Dick Byrnes Medal for Referee of the Year.

2019 Ken Catchpole Awards Evening winners:

David Brockhoff Medal (Coach of the Year) – Mark Gerrard (Warringah)

Dick Byres Medal (Ref of the Year) – Matt Kellahan

Ken Catchpole Medal – Hamish Angus (Warringah)

2019 Rookie of the Year – Michael Icely (Eastwood)

Roscoe Fay Trophy (Highest Points scorer) – James Kane (Uni) and Sean Kearns (Gordon)

Sir Roden Cutler Shield – Warringah

ES Marks Shield Shute Shield Minor Premiers – Sydney University

Gregor George Trophy - Club Champions – Sydney University

Eric Spilsted Shield-Colts Club Championship – Gordon

Most Tries – Jack Grant (Easts)