NSW Women dominate national team

· Super W
by Waratahs Media

A total of 11 NSW women’s players were today named in the 28-strong Wallaroos squad for the upcoming international series against New Zealand.

Included in the national squad are Emily Chancellor, Melissa Fatu, Grace Hamilton, Evelyn Horomia, Fi Jones, Atasi Lafai, Crystal Maguire, Cobie-Jane Morgan, Mahalia Murphy, Shanice Parker and Emily Robinson.

The Wallaroos will play New Zealand’s Black Ferns in an historic two-Test Series, which kicks off in Sydney on 18 August as part of a blockbuster double-header also featuring the Wallabies against the All Blacks.

A week later, Australia’s men’s and women’s teams will face off against their Trans-Tasman counterparts at Eden Park in Auckland.The NSW women’s players have been training at the David Phillips Sports Complex in Daceyville and playing for their clubs in the Jack Scott Cup women’s competition in preparation for the international season.

Buildcorp Wallaroos Head Coach, Dwayne Nestor said: “I’ve been impressed with the work rate of the squad as they have continued their training programs and putting it into action at club rugby level.

“The squad we are taking into camp is a great balance of youth and experience and one capable of playing some very good rugby in August. Having talked to every member of the squad, there is just an overwhelming sense of excitement to continue the hard work heading into that first Test in Sydney.

“Outside of their actions on the field, this squad has a real commitment to wanting to influence the next generation of players to pick up a Rugby ball and play our game.

“We saw from the 2018 Buildcorp Super W just what exciting Rugby is being played by our Women’s XVs players and now the challenge is to take it up to the next level when we represent our country.

Tickets for the historic double header of matches with the Buildcorp Wallaroos and Qantas Wallabies can be purchased through Ticketek.


(* denotes uncapped player)

Mhicca Carter*, Western Australia, Cottesloe

Emily Chancellor*, NSW, Sydney University

Rebecca Clough, Western Australia, Cottesloe

Georgia Cormick*, Melbourne Rebels

Melissa Fatu*, NSW, Parramatta

Kendra Fell*, Western Australia, Palmyra

Toa Filimoehala*, Queensland, Brothers

Fenella Hake, Queensland

Grace Hamilton, NSW, Sydney University

Alisha Hewett, Queensland, GPS

Evelyn Horomia, NSW, Parramatta

Fi Jones*, NSW, Sydney University

Atasi Lafai*, NSW, Campbelltown


Kiri Lingman, Queensland, Sunnybank

Crystal Maguire*, NSW, Warringah

Michelle Milward, ACT, Tuggeranong Vikings

Cobie-Jane Morgan, NSW, Warringah

Mahalia Murphy, NSW, Campbelltown

Hana Ngaha, Queensland, Sunnybank

Georgia O’Neill*, ACT

Shanice Parker*, NSW, Warringah

Liz Patu, Queensland, Wests

Trilleen Pomare, Western Australia, Kalamunda

Sarah Riordan, Queensland, ADFR

Emily Robinson, NSW, Warringah

Alice Tonumaivao*, Melbourne Rebels

Samantha Treherne, Queensland, Sunnybank

Darryl Wickliffe*, Western Australia, Kalamunda