Australia names squad for Singapore Sevens

· Mens - Singapore
by Waratahs Media

The Qantas Australian Men’s Sevens squad has been named for the Singapore Sevens as Tim Walsh’s side looks to top a Pool B against Argentina, Hong Kong and the in-form France.

Australian forward Tom Connor and back Josh Coward returns to the side with Ben O’Donnell rested for this round and Nick Malouf sent home with an ankle injury that will rule him out for the rest of the season.

Coward earns his first cap since the HSBC Sydney 7s and has signed a short-term deal with the program, locked in until the end of 2019.

Qantas Australian Men’s Sevens Head Coach, Tim Walsh said: “It’s great to be welcoming Josh (Coward) back into the fold. He showed a huge amount of potential in Sydney and Hamilton and he bolsters the squad’s depth in the ball player and kicking areas.

“He is a smart player with good vision and sharp footwork. A hard worker and student of the game his combination with Maurice Longbottom and Lewis Holland is a very promising prospect.

“This round is an opportunity for players to really stand up and show what they can do.

“We have had some tough encounters against both France and Argentina in the last 12 months and have been on the wrong side of the result on too many occasions.

“Every tournament presents opportunities to perform against the world’s best teams. It also offers preparations for benchmark events and due to our performances, this season our next major benchmark will be the Olympic qualifier in November”.

Australia currently sits seventh on the HSBC Sevens World Series standings with three legs to go in the 2018/19 season.


1. Henry Hutchison, Randwick, 23 caps

2. Simon Kennewell, Norths (Sydney), 16 caps

3. Dylan Pietsch, Randwick, 13 caps

4. Lewis Holland (c), Queanbeyan, 44 caps

5. Josh Coward, Sunnybank 2 caps

6. Lachlan Miller, Southern Cross University (Coffs Harbour), 3 caps

7. Joe Pincus, Easts (Sydney), 3 caps

8. Tim Anstee, Eastwood, 21 caps

9. Jeral Skelton, Brothers, 11 caps

10. Tom Connor, Warringah, 7 caps

11. Maurice Longbottom, Lloyd McDermott Rugby Development Team, 12 caps

12. Liam McNamara, Sunnybank, 13 caps

13th Brandon Quinn


Saturday 13 April

Australia v Argentina, 1.30pm AEST

Australia v France, 5.18pm AEST

Australia v Hong Kong, 8.22pm AEST