Double header in Camden

by Waratahs Media

The game will be preceded by NSW Country Women’s versus Sydney Women's Super W trial match, after Country came away with a hard-fought win in their first encounter two weeks ago. 

Meanwhile, NSW Country Eagles welcome back skipper Paddy Ryan, while Southern Districts flyhalf Rohan Saifoloi gets his starting chance alongside his club teammate Apo Latunipulu.

Sam Thomson returns to the second row from injury following his standout performance against Sydney earlier in the tournament, which means Jed Holloway will start at No 8. 

NSW Country have created plenty of opportunities for themselves but have been guilty of not converting possession into points. With Will Miller’s pilfering expertise, NSW Country will need to take advantage of the turnover possession he provides. 

It will be a great day at Camden on Sunday with jumping castles and face painting as well as a chance for young players to meet and train with some of the non-match day NSW Country Eagles players at 12noon. 

NSW Country Women and Sydney Women will get underway at 1315 (AEST).

The NRC match kicks off at 1500 (AEST). The game will be live streamed on Fox Sports.

1. Harry Johnson-Holmes

2. Tom Horton

3. Paddy Ryan

4. Sam Thomson

5. Emmanuel Meafou

6. Sam Figg

7. Will Miller

8. Jed Holloway

9. Jack Grant

10. Rohan Saifoloi

11. Alex Gibbon

12. Apo Latunipulu

13. Seb Wileman

14. Jaline Graham

15. Alex Newsome


16. Make Vailanu

17. Matt Gibbon

18. Robert Lagudi

19. Patrick Tafa

20. Rory Suttor

21. William McDonell

22. Dewet Roos

23. Denny Godinet 

Meanwhile former National Sevens representative Pama Fou will get his first taste of NRC action when Sydney play Queensland Country at Bond University on Saturday.

Fou has been battling a leg injury since the end of his Shute Shield season with Eastwood but has now been given the all-clear to take the field. 

Sydney’s match-day 23 will see a number of changes with last week’s starting locks Nick Palmer and Ryan McCauley out, and Curtis Rona ruled out after sustaining a few niggles in Perth. 

In comes Connor Vest, who sat out the trip to Perth with an ankle strain and Angus Ryan, the handy Southern Districts lock for his first taste of Sydney action in 2018. Ryan previously played for Sydney in 2016 and 2017.

Hugh Sinclair comes back into the side at number eight, adding depth to the squad working alongside Jack Dempsey and Maclean Jones.

Another Northern Suburbs stalwart, Harry Burey, also returns at inside centre while Tyson Davis switches to fullback. 

The team will once again be captained by Jack Dempsey. 

Saturday’s match kicks off at 1500 (AEST) and will be broadcast live on FoxSports 503.

1. Matt Sandell (Sydney University)

2. JP Sauni (Northern Suburbs)

3. Shambeckler Vui (Southern Districts)

4. Connor Vest (Northern Suburbs)

5. Angus Ryan (Southern Districts)

6. Jack Dempsey (Gordon, captain)

7. Maclean Jones (Warringah)

8. Hugh Sinclair (Northern Suburbs)

9. Mitch Short (Randwick)

10. Will Harrison (Randwick)

11. Pama Fou (Eastwood)

12. Harry Burey (Northern Suburbs)

13. Guy Porter (Sydney University)

14. Latu Latunipulu (Randwick)

15. Tyson Davis (Warringah) 


16. David Vea (Randwick)

17. Kiernan Rabie (Randwick)

18. Dean Dombous (Eastwood)

19. Jack Hayson (Randwick)

20. Josh Kemeny (Sydney University)

21. Nick Duffy (Northern Suburbs)

22. Connor O’Shea (Sydney University)

23. Tim Clements (Sydney University)