2020 Super W pre-season squad selected

· Super W
by Waratahs Media

Newly appointed NSW Waratahs Women’s Head Coach, Campbell Aitken has named a preliminary 47-player pre-season squad for the 2020 Buildcorp Super W season.

The squad will begin training in late-November in preparation for their third campaign, as they look to continue their undefeated run over the past two seasons.

The 2019 Champions will have do it without skipper and fullback, Ash Hewson who has announced her retirement from Super W along with Alexandra Sulusi.

Even with the departure of former Wallaroos in Hewson and Sulusi, the NSW squad features eight current internationals including Grace Hamilton, Emily Chancellor, Emily Robinson and Mahalia Murphy.

NSW and Queensland couldn't be split. Photo: RUGBY.com.au/Stuart Walmsley

Aitken’s squad will be bolstered by the return of Atasi Lafi and Ariana Kaiwai, with the pair returning from long-term injuries – part of a group of several internationally capped players on board for 2020.

The likes of Sera Naiqama, Maya Stewart, Fi Jones and Arabella McKenzie will all return slightly beyond the main group, following their participation in the Oceania Rugby Women’s Championship in Laukota during November.

Georgina Friedrichs joins the squad from the Australian Sevens set up, following her first season with Randwick Magic in the Jack Scott Cup.

Lillyann Mason-Spice, Piper Duck and Layne Morgan all arrive in the NSW Waratah Women’s set up for the first time – part of a brigade of young talent making their mark in the Jack Scott and Chikarovski Cup.

NSW Waratahs Women’s Head Coach, Campbell Aitken said that the make up of his squad showed how the state’s development pathways were beginning to take shape.

“It’s been something that Matt [Evrard] and Tim [Rapp] have put a lot of work into in recent years and we’re beginning to reap the rewards,” Aitken said.

“We’ve got great representation from NSW Country along with some exciting young players, who all got their opportunity at the Chikarovski Cup – it’s a really valuable part of our pathway and selection process for Super W.

“There’s a wealth of experience with the likes of Grace [Hamilton], Emily [Robinson] and Mahalia [Murphy] along with plenty of players within or on the fringes of the national team.

“We’ve got 11 players at the Oceania Rugby Championships this month, so their experience in that tournament into a solid pre-season can only benefit them coming into Super W.”

The current squad will be reduced to 30-players in the lead up to the 2020 Buildcorp Super W season.

NSW Waratahs Women 2020 Super W pre-season squad:

Aaliyah Faamausili - Randwick

Adiana Talakai - Sydney Uni

Arabella McKenzie - Randwick

Ariana Kaiwai - Blacktown

Atasi Lafai - Campbelltown

Barbara Waddell - Sydney Uni

Bridie O'Gorman - Sydney Uni

Chloe Leaupepe - Western Sydney

Claudia Bell - Sydney Uni

Courtney Frankl - Eastern Suburbs

Emily McDonald - Central West

Emily Chancellor - Sydney Uni

Emily Robinson - Warringah

Eva Karpani - Randwick

Evelyn Horomia - Western Sydney

Fi Jones - Sydney Uni

Georgina Friedrichs - Randwick

Grace Hamilton - Sydney Uni

Iliseva Batibasaga - Sydney Uni

Jade Huggins - Western Sydney

Jemima McCalman - Sydney Uni

Jemima Henry - Campbelltown

Katrina Barker - Hunter

Kennedy Cherrington - Randwick

Kirrily Laws - Sydney Uni

Layne Morgan - Randwick

Leilani Nathan - Hunter

Lillyann Mason-Spice - Central West

Madeline Wilson - Sydney Uni

Mahalia Murphy - Hunter

Maya Stewart - Hunter

Melissa Fatu - Western Sydney

Mikaela Trbojevich - Warringah

Moniqca Mo'ale - Randwick

Nicole Nathan - Hunter

Noella Green - Sydney Uni

Olivia White - Southern Districts

Oneata Schwalger - Randwick

Pauline Pilia’e - Blacktown

Piper Duck - Sydney Uni

Sera Naiqama - Sydney Uni

Shanice Parker - Warringah

Shenay Ball - Central Coast

Taz Sheppard - Sydney Uni

Tina Campbell - Eastern Suburbs

Tisera Volkman - Sydney Uni

Violeta Tupuola - Gordon