Women’s teams named for double-headers

· Super W
by Waratahs Media

Sydney Coach Campbell Aitken said these two games are important. “It’s huge, it gives the players the ambition to take that next step. It’s a good step up from what they have been playing and a good transition into the Super W format,” he said.

This year’s Jack Scott Cup has shown that there’s a plethora of talent coming through the ranks in women’s rugby with all of the competition’s clubs being represented in either side. The Sydney squad features 14 players from competition leaders, Sydney University.

Sydney have included Josephine Falesita, Chloe Leaupepe, Fiona Jones, Ash Hewson, Iliseva Batibasaga, Tasmin Sheppard, Natalie Maclaren, Ana-lise Sio and Alex Sulusi. These players will add plenty of firepower as they are back playing together for the first time since their title winning campaign for NSW in the Super W.

Aitken highlights the younger members of the squad and what they can bring to the team.

“There’s a couple of really young players in there, Phoebe Loughhead who’s currently in year 12 doing her HSC, she’s got a bright future ahead of her and Shenai Lendill from Warringah looks really sharp,” he said.

The NSW Country squad includes some of the best players from the country competitions, such as Newcastle University’s Britney Duff, the 2017 NSW Country Women’s Rugby Union Player of the Year.

NSW Super W squad members, Katrina Barker, Alafou Fatu, Nancy Vaiaku, Inge Visser and Matalena Wilson will also be donning the orange jersey for the two games, adding plenty of experience and a winning culture to the side.

The games between Sydney Women and NSW Country Women will be played alongside two NRC fixtures. The first hit out is scheduled to be on Sunday 23 September at Concord Oval as part of a double header with Sydney vs Fiji NRC.

The second round of action will be another double header when the NSW Country Eagles take on Brisbane City on Sunday 7 October at Camden.

NSW Country Women

Katrina Barker Warringah

Emma Bradford Easts Newcastle

Ellie Brislane Eastern Suburbs

Rima Butler Campbelltown

Jessica Church Waratah Club

Tammy Clay Waratah Club

Britney Duff Newcastle University

Alafou Fatu Parramatta

Brooke Harper University of Wollongong

Jemima Henry Campbelltown

Annika Jamieson Waratah Club

Ellie Johnstone Wauchope

Ariana Kaiwai Blacktown

Bobbi Law Waratah Club

Jean Littlewood Port Macquarie

Katko Mahina Campbelltown

Yolanda Maiava Blacktown

Sarah Maiava Blacktown

Emily McDonald Orange Emus

Denise McGrath Campbelltown

Arabella McKenzie Eastern Suburbs

Claudia McLaren CSU Bathurst

Leilane Nathan Hamilton

Nichole Nathan Hamilton

Lupe Ngatuvai Easts Newcastle

Kathleen Ostler Port Macquarie

Candise Pisu Campbelltown

Karleisha Roberts Blacktown

Katrina Sager Campbelltown

Peta Salter Wauchope

Chloe Saunders Wauchope

Marita Shoulders Bulldogs

Rachel Simpson West Harbour

Jasmine Sio West Harbour

Sharnah Stevens West Wyalong

Tia Tyler Port Macquarie

Nancy Vaiaku Parramatta

Belinda Vakawera Campbelltown

Inge Vesser Avoca Beach

Melissa Waterford Bathurst Bulldogs

Mardi Watts Warringah

Claire Wilmington CSU Bathurst

Matalena Wilson Warringah

Sydney Women

Victoria Latu Parramatta

Kirrliy Laws Sydney University

Claire Thompson Easts

Josephone Falesita Parramatta

Ella Goldsmith Easts

Chloe Leaupepe Warringah

Fiona Jones Sydney University

Loretta Mailangi Parramatta

Mikaela Trbojevich Warringah

Ash Hewson Sydney University

Anne Rutlidge Warringah

Iliseva Batibasaga Sydney University

Phoebe Loughhead Easts

Carmen Leung Warringah

Tasmin Sheppard Sydney University

Amanda Gibson Warringah

Natalie McLaren Warringah

Sera Naiqama Sydney University

Ana-lise Sio Parramatta

Alex Sulusi Parramatta

Anna Andrzejewski Easts

Sabine Blakeman Warringah

Noella Green Sydney University

Adiana Talakai Sydney University

Kylie Coleman Easts

Bridie O'Gorman Sydney University

Ddiana Taefu Parramatta

Tisera Volkman Sydney University

Madda Wilson Sydney University

Tamyka Laws Sydney University

Jude Kendrick Easts

Annie Hack Sydney University

Courtney Frankl Easts

Shenai Lendill Warringah

Kimberley Davey Sydney University

Kennedy Cherrington Warringah

Sarah Maiava Blacktown