NSW Rugby members honoured at Rugby Australia Awards

by Waratahs Media

The national rugby community came together to celebrate the 2019 season, the individuals who shone and those that have made a lasting contribution to the game, in a ceremony in Sydney this evening.


A raft of Wallabies, Wallaroos and provincial stars from the men’s and women’s game were on hand to see Marika Koroibete take out one of the evening’s prized awards – the John Eales Medal.


Amidst the night’s award winners were a few of NSW Rugby’s finest, with Michael Hooper taking out the Australia’s Choice – Qantas Wallaby of the Year Award – to go alongside the NSW Waratahs captain’s two John Eales Medals.

Michael Hooper is caught in a desperate tackle in the Wallabies' loss to South Africa. Photo: Getty Images

Hooper was at his consistent best in 2019 at both Super Rugby and international level, appearing in 12 Tests with a team high 931 minutes and 139 tackles.


Grace Hamilton was awarded the Buildcorp Wallaroos Player of the Year, capping off a memorable 2019 for barnstorming loose forward.


Hamilton was integral to the NSW Waratahs Women taking out their second Super W title and was awarded Player of the Year at NSW Rugby’s 2019 Awards earlier this year.

Outgoing NSW Waratahs Doctor, Sharron Flahive was honoured for her 20 years of service to rugby after receiving the Joe French Award for her outstanding contribution to the game.


The much-loved team physician is finalising her role with the NSW Waratahs – a position she began in 1999 – as she moves onto a role with the Wallaroos.


Rugby Australia Awards 2019 Award Winners
HSBC Volunteer of the Year: Ben and Selina Blyton
Roger Vanderfield TNT Referee of the Year: Nic Berry
Nick Farr-Jones Spirit of Rugby Award: Peter ‘Doubles’ Daley
Joe French Award: Sharron Flahive
Geoff ‘Bunter’ Shaw Community Coach of the Year Award: Vaasa Afa
Junior Wallabies Player of the Year: Fraser McReight
Rugby Australia Rookie of the Year: Alysia Lefau-Fakaosilea and Jordan Petaia
Rugby Australia Try of the Year: Nic White
Buildcorp Super W Player of the Year: Tayla Stanford
Vodafone Super Rugby Player of the Year: Samu Kerevi
Australia’s Choice – Qantas Wallaby of the Year: Michael Hooper
Buildcorp Wallaroos Player of the Year: Grace Hamilton
The Shawn MacKay Award – Men’s Sevens Player of the Year: Maurice Longbottom
The Shawn MacKay Award – Women’s Sevens Player of the Year: Charlotte Caslick
John Eales Medal: Marika Koroibete