Hewson to return as Wallaroos side named for Fifth-Place Semi

· International
by Waratahs Media

Returning to the starting line-up is Sydney playmaker and kicker Ash Hewson, who’ll step into flyhalf for centre-bound Sarah Riordan.

Sydney-sider Chloe Butler will once again partner Grace Hamilton in the backrow, sitting at numbers seven and eight respectively.

NSW Country Corella Katrina Barker will join Hewson in the halves, making her start again at scrumhalf. Out on the wing is Mahalia Murphy, who will be brimming with confidence after putting in a solid performance against Japan last round which featured a near end-to-end try.

Warringah’s Emily Robinson will make her impact off the bench for the front row while Parramatta Two Blue Kayla Suavao pulls on the no.23 for the Wallaroos.

Coach Verrell says his side will look to capitalise on the momentum of last round’s win over Japan.

"As we approach this match against Ireland once again we’ve tried to make minimal changes to create some cohesion amongst the group,” he said. “The girls played some good Rugby against Japan and we’re hoping they can build upon that.

“We’ve been able to welcome back Ashleigh Hewson into the squad this week which is a positive, as she brings with her a wealth of knowledge and experience.”

“While we’re out of semi-finals contention, the team is focused on finishing the World Cup as highly ranked as we can, and to have a second chance against Ireland after a two-point loss, this match provides us with a chance for some redemption.”

The Wallaroos will face host-nation Ireland on Tuesday night, kick off at 11pm AEST. You can watch all the action live on Fox Sports.

Wallaroos side to face Ireland:

1. Liz Patu – Queensland, Wests

2. Cheyenne Campbell – Queensland, Redlands

3. Hilisha Samoa – Queensland, Brothers

4. Alisha Hewett – Australian Defence Force (ADRFU), Queensland, GPS

5. Rebecca Clough – Western Australia, Cottesloe

6. Millie Boyle – ACT, Canberra Royals

7. Chloe Butler – Sydney, Parramatta

8. Grace Hamilton – Sydney, Sydney University

9. Katrina Barker – NSW Country, Newcastle University

10. Ashleigh Hewson – Sydney, Sydney University

11. Mahalia Murphy* – Australian Sevens, NSW, Campbelltown

12. Sharni Williams – Australian Sevens, ACT, Canberra Royals

13. Sarah Riordan – Australian Defence Force (ADRFU), Victoria, Melbourne Unicorns

14. Nareta Marsters – Queensland, Sunnybank

15. Samantha Treherne – Queensland, Sunnybank


16. Emily Robinson – Sydney, Warringah

17. Violeta Tupuola – ACT, Canberra Royals

18. Hana Ngaha – Queensland, Sunnybank

19. Mollie Gray – Australian Defence Force (ADRFU), NSW, Maitland

20. Kate Brown – ACT, Tuggeranong Vikings

21. Fenella Hake – Queensland, Redlands

22. Kayla Sauvao – Sydney, Parramatta

23. Trilleen Pomare* – Western Australia, Wanneroo