Atasi Lafai, Grace Hamilton named in Wallaroos starting side to face Black Ferns

Thu, Aug 25, 2022, 12:30 AM
Waratahs Media
by Waratahs Media
Atasi Lafai has been named in the Wallaroos starting side to face the Black Ferns in Adelaide
Atasi Lafai has been named in the Wallaroos starting side to face the Black Ferns in Adelaide

The Buildcorp Wallaroos team that will face New Zealand’s Black Ferns has been confirmed for the second test of the O’Reilly Cup series at Adelaide Oval this Saturday.

Head coach Jay Tregonning has made seven changes to his starting XV from last weekend’s loss in Christchurch, with two players set to make their Wallaroos debuts.

The Waratahs are once again well represented, with a total of 15 players named including nine in the starting XV.

Brumbies centre Siokapesi Palu has been named to make her debut at inside centre while Bienne Terita, a member of the World Series Sevens champion Aussie Sevens squad, has been named to start on the wing.

In the forwards, Liz Patu returns to the match-day line-up at loosehead prop in place of Bree-Anna Cheatham, who was ruled out through injury, while Adiana Talakai and local Adelaide product and Waratah Eva Karpani have been elevated from the reserves to the starting line-up.

Waratahs lock Atasi Lafai, who made her return from injury last weekend in Christchurch, will start in the second row alongside Michaela Leonard.

In the backrow, Grace Hamilton’s impressive training performances have seen her work her way back into the starting XV.

“We’ve made some changes this week off the back of last week’s result, as well as some minor injuries within the squad,” said Tregonning.

“We’re lucky to have built significant depth within the group over the last few months, and the players that have come into the starting line-up this week are deserving of their opportunity.

“We have two new players coming into the backline this week in Siokapesi and Bienne, and we believe they both have a lot to offer the team.

“We’ve had another solid week of training, off the back of an in-depth review following last weekend’s match, and the team are really looking forward to playing in Adelaide for the first time ever this weekend.

“This is a historic game, it’s not often we get to spread the word of Rugby to South Australia, so the team is hoping for a solid turnout from the locals at one of Australia’s most iconic sporting grounds on Saturday.”

The second O’Reilly Cup Test between the Wallaroos and Black Ferns kicks off at 12:15pm ACST, and will be broadcast live via Stan Sport. Tickets are available via

Buildcorp Wallaroos to face the Black Ferns in Adelaide:

1.Liz Patu - Reds

2.Adiana Talakai - Waratahs

3.Eva Karpani - Waratahs

4.Atasi Lafai - Waratahs

5.Michaela Leonard - Brumbies

6.Emily Chancellor - Waratahs

7.Shannon Parry (c) - Reds

8.Grace Hamilton - Waratahs

9.Iliseva Batibasaga - Waratahs

10.Arabella McKenzie - Waratahs

11.Ivania Wong - Reds

12.Siokapesi Palu* - Brumbies

13.Georgina Friedrichs - Waratahs

14.Bienne Terita* - Aussie Sevens

15.Pauline Piliae-Rasabale - Waratahs

16.Ashley Marsters - Rebels

17.Emily Robinson - Waratahs

18.Bridie Gorman - Waratahs

19.Kaitlan Leaney - Waratahs

20.Piper Duck - Waratahs

21.Layne Morgan - Waratahs

22.Trileen Pomare - Force

23.Lori Cramer - Waratahs