Log in

Donaldson and Gleeson to start for Australia A against Fiji

Fri, 08/07/2022, 1:00 am
Waratahs Media
by Waratahs Media

Australia A coach Jason Gilmore has made several changes as they prepare to face Fiji in Lautoka.

Ryan Lonergan will once again lead the side, with Waratahs flyhalf Ben Donaldson coming into the side alongside him.

Reds hooker Matt Faessler continues his incredible rise, named at hooker as Tom Robertson and Matt Gibbon retain their spots following dominant showings against Samoa.

Hugh Sinclair comes into the starting side to partner Ryan Smith in the second-row, allowing Seru Uru to move to flanker.

Sinclair is joined by Waratahs teammate Langi Gleeson, who comes into the back of the scrum as Fraser McReight completes the backrow.

Wallaby Filipo Daugunu will get the chance to shine in a new-look back-three, with Dylan Pietsch added to the wing as Jock Campbell moves to fullback following Reece Hodge's Wallabies call-up.

Lalakai Foketi and Hudson Creighton complete the centres as they prepare for a tough encounter against the host nation.

New Force recruit and recent call-up Jeremy Williams comes into a largely settled bench, joined by new teammates Jackson Pugh and Feleti Kaitu'u.

Harry Hoopert and Archer Holz retain their spots to round out the forward finishes. Meanwhile, new call-up Reds centre Isaac Henry will make his first appearance since returning from injury as James Tuttle and Mark Nawaqanitawase

Australia A Head Coach Jason Gilmore said: “The squad is really excited about playing Fiji in Fiji.

“It’s a special occasion and this opportunity does not come around too often. For Seru, Filipo, Mark and Langi to play this match in Fiji will be a memorable moment for the boys and their families.

“We were disappointed not to finish the game off against Samoa after fighting our way back into it in the second half.

“Our execution early in the match will be important against an experienced Fiji team. As we know with this team, they can attack from anywhere and we will need to be defensively sharp."

Australia A will face Fiji this Saturday 9 July at Churchill Park kicking off at 1:30pm with every moment live, ad-free and on demand on Stan Sport.

Australia A side to face Fiji

  1. Matt Gibbon
  2. Matthew Faessler
  3. Tom Robertson
  4. Hugh Sinclair
  5. Ryan Smith
  6. Seru Uru
  7. Fraser McReight
  8. Langi Gleeson
  9. Ryan Longergan
  10. Ben Donaldson
  11. Flipo Daugunu
  12. Lalakai Foketi
  13. Hudson Creighton
  14. Dylan Pietsch
  15. Jock Campbell
  16. Feleti Kaitu'u
  17. Harry Hoopert
  18. Archer Holz
  19. Jeremy Williams
  20. Jackson Pugh
  21. James Tuttle
  22. Isaac Henry
  23. Mark Nawaqanitawase