Karpani named to start for Wallaroos against Japan

Mon, May 9, 2022, 8:00 AM
Waratahs Media
by Waratahs Media

NSW is once again well represented in Jay Tregonning’s Wallaroos side to face Japan, with 15 Waratahs named.

Buildcorp Wallaroos prop Liz Patu is set to become the most capped Wallaroo in the sides 28-year history this week when she comes off the bench on Tuesday evening against Japan.

In a night of history, the side will also be wearing their First Nations jersey. Contemporary Noongar Artist Seantelle Walsh designed the ASICS jersey, which captures the essence of the Mother country by depicting the connection between women and their spirit, ancestors and shared history.

Additionally, the side will also perform Advance Australia Fair in the Yugambeh language as the team acknowledges the contributions of the Indigenous community to the game of Rugby.

After an impressive performance in Brisbane over the weekend, Head Coach Jay Tregonning has opted to start last weekend’s reserve front row with Madison Schuck, Ashley Marsters and Eva Karpani, swapping with Liz Patu, Adiana Talakai and Bridie O’Gorman.

Centre pairing Pauline Piliae-Rasabale and Georgina Friedrichs will be looking to add to their successful combination as Tregonning opts to retain all 23 members of his squad.

Buildcorp Wallaroos head coach Jay Tregonning said: “There is no doubt that Tuesday’s match holds a particular significance for the playing group.”

“Receiving the opportunity to wear the First Nations jersey and sing the local rendition of the national anthem has been a key talking point amongst the group all week, so it is going to be quite emotional.”

“We are coming up against a very organised and clinical Japan side. Watching them last Sunday against the Fijiana, there is no doubt we have a big challenge ahead of us come Tuesday.”

“While we were impressed by the side performance against the Fijiana, we’ve identified our key work-ons and have addressed them during this short turnaround.”

Buildcorp Wallaroos team to play Japan at Bond University, Gold Coast on Tuesday 10 May at 5:00pm AEST.

1. Madison Schuck - Queensland Reds (1 cap) 2.  Ashley Marsters – Melbourne Rebels (11 caps) 3. Asoiva (Eva) Karpani – NSW Waratahs (3 caps) 4. Michaela Leonard - Brumbies (4 caps) 5. Kaitlan Leaney – NSW Waratahs (1 cap) 6. Emily Chancellor – NSW Waratahs (7 caps) 7. Shannon Parry (C) - Queensland Reds (13 caps) 8. Grace Hamilton – NSW Waratahs (16 caps) 9. Iliseva Batibasaga – NSW Waratahs (16 caps) 10. Arabella McKenzie – NSW Waratahs (5 caps) 11. Ivania Wong - Queensland Reds (1 cap) 12. Pauline Piliae-Rasabale – NSW Waratahs (1cap) 13. Georgina Friedrichs – NSW Waratahs (1 ca) 14. Mahalia Murphy – NSW Waratahs (12 caps) 15. Lori Cramer - NSW Waratahs (5 caps)


16. Adiana Talakai – NSW Waratahs (1 cap) 17. Liz Patu – Queensland Reds (24 caps) 18. Bridie O’Gorman – NSW Waratahs (1 cap) 19. Sera Naiqama – NSW Waratahs (1 cap) 20. Piper Duck – NSW Waratahs (1 cap) 21. Layne Morgan – NSW Waratahs (1 cap) 22. Trilleen Pomare – Western Force (12 caps) 23. Jemima McCalman - Brumbies (1 cap)