Log in

Piper Duck and Layne Morgan earn maiden Wallaroos Test starts

Thu, 16/06/2022, 5:00 am
Waratahs Media
by Waratahs Media

Piper Duck, Layne Morgan and Cecilia Smith will make their first ever start as the Buildcorp Wallaroos announce their matchday 23 for their final match in the Pacific Four Series against Canada.

After making a series of impacts off the bench Piper Duck will replace Waratahs teammate Emily Chancellor.

Layne Morgan has also laid claim to the number nine jersey as she replaces Iliseva Batibasaga who moves to the reserves for the final clash in New Zealand.

Playmakers Arabella McKenzie and Cecilia Smith both played a part in changing the tide in the second half of the Buildcorp Wallaroos game against the USA last week and as a result have earned a spot in the starting team.

The change results in Pauline Piliae-Rasabale shifting to the fullback position with Trilleen Pomare and Mahalia Murphy set to make an impact off the bench. Barnstorming number eight Grace Kemp has also been given an opportunity to make her Buildcorp Wallaroos debut.

The Brumbies product has become a mainstay with the Buildcorp Wallaroos squad and has been impressive throughout 2022 particularly against Japan in the Road To New Zealand Series where she had a player of the match performance representing the Australian Barbarians.

Buildcorp Wallaroos Head Coach Jay Tregonning said: “It’s going to be great to see what Arabella, Piper, Cecilia and Layne can do from the initial kick-off in this game.

“Every player we’ve shifted into the starting team have been extremely impressive in our last couple of games and the team is eager to stamp their authority of this game early.

“Again, we’ve been able to debut several players during the Series and it’s showcased the depth we have in the squad, I think this will be clear to see when Grace (Kemp) gets her opportunity to play, she’s an extremely talented player.

“We’ve had some pretty close results during our time in New Zealand and the side has taken a lot away from our recent performances however, we’ll be looking to ensure we finish the Series on a positive note against Canada this Saturday.”

The Buildcorp Wallaroos will travel to Whangarei to play Canada at Semenoff Stadium on Saturday 18 June kicking off at 11:30am AEST with every moment streamed live ad-free and on demand with Stan Sport.

Buildcorp Wallaroos team to play Canada at Semenoff Stadium, Whangarei on Saturday 18 June, 11:30am AEST.

  1. Liz Patu – Queensland Reds (27 caps)
  2. Ashley Marsters – Melbourne Rebels (14 caps)
  3. Bridie O’Gorman – NSW Waratahs (4 caps)
  4. Michaela Leonard – Brumbies (8 caps)
  5. Kaitlan Leaney – NSW Waratahs (4 caps)
  6. Piper Duck – NSW Waratahs (4 caps)
  7. Shannon Parry – Queensland Reds (16 caps)
  8. Grace Hamilton – NSW Waratahs (19 caps)
  9. Layne Morgan – NSW Waratahs (4 caps)
  10. Arabella McKenzie – NSW Waratahs (8 caps)
  11. Lori Cramer – NSW Waratahs (8 caps)
  12. Cecilia Smith – Queensland Reds (2 caps)
  13. Georgina Friedrichs – NSW Waratahs (4 caps)
  14. Jemima McCalman – Brumbies (3 caps)
  15. Pauline Piliae-Rasabale – NSW Waratahs (4 caps) Reserves
  16. Tiarna Molloy – Queensland Reds (1 cap)
  17. Madison Schuck – Queensland Reds (4 caps)
  18. Asoiva Karpani – NSW Waratahs (6 caps)
  19. Sera Naiqama – NSW Waratahs (2 caps)
  20. Grace Kemp – Brumbies*
  21. Iliseva Batibasaga – NSW Waratahs (19 caps)
  22. Trilleen Pomare – Western Force (15 caps)
  23. Mahalia Murphy – NSW Waratahs (15 caps) *Denotes uncapped