Waratahs Academy sides named for Western Force fixture

Thu, Nov 3, 2022, 11:00 PM
Waratahs Media
by Waratahs Media

The NSW Waratahs have confirmed their U16 and U19 sides for the final round of the National Championships when they take on the Western Force this Sunday at Kingsway Sports Complex in Perth.

Currently undefeated in the U16 and U19 age groups throughout their opening three fixtures, the Waratahs Academy teams now turn their attention to the Force with home final hosting rights at stake.

As it stands, a Waratahs U19s win this weekend will see the Final hosted in Sydney on Sunday 13 November with a venue still to be determined.

The Waratahs U16 side put in a dominant performance against the Rebels in their last match in the competition running out 81-0 winners, while the U19s overcame a determined Melbourne outfit for a well-earned 38-27 win.

The Force went one from two last weekend against the Reds, with their U16 side causing the upset of the round with a 17-15 win, while their U19s went down 36-7.

Waratahs Head of Talent Management Andrew Cleverley is adamant the Waratahs will not take the Force lightly.

“Our Waratahs U16s and U19s, players and coaches are aware that the Force will offer a huge challenge this weekend,” Cleverley said.

“The Force sides are improving with every game and their U16s proved that against the Reds.

“Travelling to Perth the night before adds another challenge, but our teams will be adjusting their training and sleep patterns to try and mitigate the affect travel can have on their performance.”

All matches will be shown live, ad-free, and on-demand on Stan Sport.

NSW Waratahs U16s team v Western Force U16s – Sunday 6 November 12:30 pm AEDT

1 Harper Strachan (NSW Schools (AICES), Hunter Valley Grammar School)

2 Max Meagher (NSW Schools (CAS), Trinity Grammar School)

3 Nick Hill (NSW Schools (CAS), Barker College)

4 Billy Hansen (NSW Schools (GPS), The Scots College)

5 Zion Poitaha (NSW Schools (CAS), Waverley College)

6 Heath Turner (NSW Schools (CAS), Knox Grammar)

7 Marshall Le Maitre © (NSW Schools (GPS), Shore School)

8 Ollie Aboud (Sydney Juniors, Randwick)

9 Sam Blank (NSW Schools (ISA), St Augustine’s)

10 Alex Conti (NSW Schools (ISA), St Patrick’s College)

11 Tom Farr-Jones (Sydney Juniors, Randwick)

12 Zach Fittler (NSW Schools (GPS), The Scots College)

13 Riley Evans (NSW Country, Mid North Coast)

14 Casey McLean (NSW Schools (GPS), Newington College)

15 Mitch Woods (NSW Schools (ISA), St Patrick’s College)

16 Luke Muriti (NSW Schools (ISA), Oakhill College)

17 Daniel Christodoulou (Sydney Juniors, West Harbour)

18 Edwin Langi (NSW Schools (GPS), The Kings School)

19 Sam Niulala (Sydney Juniors, Northern Suburbs)

20 Daniel Meafou (NSW Schools (CCC), Edmund Rice College)

21 Taite Howells (Sydney Juniors, Eastwood)

22 Matt Humphries (NSW Schools (GPS), Newington College)

23 Tom Watts (NSW Schools (GPS), The Kings School)

24 Connor Dempsey (Sydney Juniors, Northern Suburbs)

NSW Waratahs U19s team v Western Force U19s – Sunday 6 November 2:05 pm AEDT

1           Jamie Clark       (Sydney University)

2           Lulu Paea          (Manly)

3           Henry Roberts  (Sydney University)

4           Jackson Knight  (Gordon)

5           Fritz Jahnke-Tavana       (Southern Districts)

6           Clem Halaholo  (Sydney University)

7           Hayden Maher  (Randwick)

8           Sam Allsopp      (Sydney University)

9           Tom Goddard   (Eastwood)

10         Jack Bowen       (Eastern Suburbs)

11         Aaron Dimovitch           (Randwick)

12         Charlie Worthington     (Randwick)

13         Jackson Ropata (Southern Districts)

14         Riley Hemsworth           (Eastwood)

15         Tom Morrison  (Sydney University)

16         Bertie Alcock     (West Harbour)

17         Jack Barrett       (St Joseph’s College)

18         Jayden Moujalli (Eastwood)

19         Angus Griffin     (Eastwood)

20         Will Martin       (Sydney University)

21         Dan Nelson       (Sydney University)

22         Pauli Manuel    (West Harbour)

23         Jack Matthews  (Sydney University)

24         Tyee Manson    (Sydney University)