Log in

Waratahs dominate Wallaroos Pacfic Four Series travelling squad

Thu, 19/05/2022, 2:00 am
Waratahs Media
by Waratahs Media
15 Waratahs have been named in Jay Tregonning's travelling Wallaroos squad
15 Waratahs have been named in Jay Tregonning's travelling Wallaroos squad

Buildcorp Wallaroos head coach Jay Tregonning has announced his 32-player traveling squad ahead of the Pacific Four Series hosted in New Zealand next month.

The outfit includes nine uncapped players including Brumbies number eight Grace Kemp who impressed the Buildcorp Wallaroos coaches during her debut with the Australian Barbarians against Japan.

There is one new addition to the squad from last month’s Road to New Zealand Test Series against the Fijiana and Japan with Tregonning looking to build playing combinations further ahead of October’s Rugby World Cup.

Queensland Reds front-rower Bree-Anna Cheatham will return to the group after missing the first part of the year due to injury.

The squad is comprised of five Brumbies, 15 NSW Waratahs, nine Queensland Reds, one Melbourne Rebel, and two from the Western Force.

Buildcorp Wallaroos head coach Jay Tregonning said: “We learnt a lot from our first two Test matches of the year. I know the side will strive for more consistency against three challenging opponents in the Pacific Four Series.

“It’s great we have such a quick turnaround between Test matches this year to support our preparation for the Rugby World Cup. To play against three of the top teams in the world is an exciting experience and is certainly a prospect this group has been itching for.

“It will also be invaluable for us to play in two of the Rugby World Cup venues ahead of the tournament later this year.

Squad Summary Total Test caps: 162 Uncapped players: 9 Average Test caps: 5 Most capped: Liz Patu (25 caps) Breakdown: Brumbies 5, NSW Waratahs 15, Queensland Reds 9, Melbourne Rebels 1, Western Force 2

Buildcorp Wallaroos Pacific Four Series Squad (Tests played, team) Iliseva Batibasaga (17 caps, NSW Waratahs) Emily Chancellor (8 caps, NSW Waratahs) Bree-Anna Cheatham* (Queensland Reds) Annabelle Codey* (Queensland Reds) Lori Cramer (6 caps, NSW Waratahs) Piper Duck (2 caps, NSW Waratahs) Georgina Friedrichs (2 caps, NSW Waratahs) Grace Hamilton (17 caps, NSW Waratahs) Tamika Jones* (Western Force) Asoiva (Eva) Karpani (4 caps, NSW Waratahs) Grace Kemp* (Brumbies) Kaitlan Leaney (2 caps, NSW Waratahs) Michaela Leonard (5 caps, Brumbies) Ashley Marsters (12 caps, Melbourne Rebels) Lillyann Mason-Spice* (Brumbies) Jemima McCalman (2 caps, Brumbies) Arabella McKenzie (6 caps, NSW Waratahs) Tiarna Molloy* (Queensland Reds) Layne Morgan (2 caps, NSW Waratahs) Mahalia Murphy (13 caps, NSW Waratahs) Sera Naiqama (2 caps, NSW Waratahs) Bridie O'Gorman (2 caps, NSW Waratahs) Siokapesi Palu* (Brumbies) Shannon Parry (14 caps, Queensland Reds) Liz Patu (25 caps, Queensland Reds) Pauline Piliae- Rasabale (2 caps, NSW Waratahs) Trilleen Pomare (13 caps, Western Force) Madison Schuck (2 caps, Queensland Reds) Cecilia Smith* (Queensland Reds) Adiana Talakai (2 caps, NSW Waratahs) Melanie Wilks* (Queensland Reds) Ivania Wong (2 caps, Queensland Reds) *Denotes uncapped Buildcorp Wallaroos’ Pacific Four Series