Waratahs feature stongly in Wallaroos side to face Black Ferns

Sat, Jun 4, 2022, 2:30 AM
Waratahs Media
by Waratahs Media

Wallaroos Head Coach Jay Tregonning has named 14 Waratahs while giving two additional players an opportunity to make their debut this Monday as he announces his team ahead of their first match in the Pacific Four competition.

Queenslanders Annabelle Codey and Cecilia Smith have been included on the bench for receiving the chance to make a potential Buildcorp Wallaroos debut.

Western Force star Trilleen Pomare also has earned herself a spot in the starting team running out in the number 10 jersey after coming off the bench in her last two matches against Japan and Fijiana.

The original starting front row from the Buildcorp Wallaroos’ win over Fijiana has been restored for the match against the Black Ferns with the front-row partnership of Ashley Marsters, Madison Schuck and Eva Karpani returning to the bench.

While Tregonning has made a few changes to his side, the core of the squad remains relatively consistent as they look to continue to build on their combinations towards the Rugby World Cup in October.

Buildcorp Wallaroos Head Coach Jay Tregonning said: “The team has just come off a really valuable week back on the Gold Coast and we are excited to be in New Zealand ahead of the competition.”

“Playing New Zealand in the first game of the Pacific Four really feels like a prelude for what is to come in the first match of the pool games at the Rugby World Cup.”

“While the Black Ferns are formidable opponents this match will be perfect for out preparations before we travel back to New Zealand in October.”

The Buildcorp Wallaroos will face New Zealand on Monday 6 June at Tauranga Domain kicking off at 12:30pm AEST catch every moment live, on demand and ad-free on Stan Sport.

Buildcorp Wallaroos team to play New Zealand at Tauranga Domain on Monday 6 June at 12:30pm AEST.

1.Liz Patu – Queensland Reds (25 caps)

2. Adiana Talakai – NSW Waratahs (2 caps)

3. Bridie O’Gorman – NSW Waratahs (2 caps)

4. Michaela Leonard - Brumbies (5 caps)

5. Kaitlan Leaney – NSW Waratahs (2 caps)

6. Emily Chancellor – NSW Waratahs (8 caps)

7. Shannon Parry (C) - Queensland Reds (14 caps)

8. Grace Hamilton – NSW Waratahs (17 caps)

9. Iliseva Batibasaga – NSW Waratahs (17 caps)

10. Trilleen Pomare – Western Force (13 caps)

11. Ivania Wong - Queensland Reds (2 caps)

12. Pauline Piliae-Rasabale – NSW Waratahs (2 caps)

13. Georgina Friedrichs – NSW Waratahs (2 caps)

14. Mahalia Murphy – NSW Waratahs (13 caps)

15. Lori Cramer - NSW Waratahs (6 caps)


16. Ashley Marsters – Melbourne Rebels (12 caps)

17. Madison Schuck - Queensland Reds (2 caps)

18. Asoiva (Eva) Karpani – NSW Waratahs (3 caps)

19. Annabelle Codey – Queensland Reds*

20. Piper Duck – NSW Waratahs (2 caps)

21. Layne Morgan – NSW Waratahs (2 caps)

22. Cecilia Smith – Queensland Reds*

23. Arabella McKenzie – NSW Waratahs (6 caps)

*Denotes uncapped