Club Rugby

Sydney Club Rugby's high individual honour

The prestigious Ken Catchpole Medal is awarded to the Intrust Super Shute Shield Player of the Year, as voted by the tournament’s referees on a 3-2-1 basis over the course of the regular season 18 rounds.

Ken Catchpole, regarded as one Australia’s greatest half-backs ever produced, appeared in 67 games for Australia including 27 tests, 13 of which he captained. A Randwick Rugby Club legend, Catchpole was born in 1939, a natural athlete, he made his New South Wales debut against the Lions in 1959, aged just 19 and after only playing eight first grade games.

At the age of 21, he became the second-youngest player since World War Two to Captain the Wallabies, and just the third player to claim the honour on his test debut since 1945.

The Scots College old boy amassed over 180 games for Randwick and was an inaugural member of the Sports Australia Hall of Fame in 1985. He was then one of the original five inductees into the Australian Rugby Union Hall of Fame in 2005. Just four years ago, in 2013, he became the 66th player inducted into the World Rugby Hall of Fame.

Following his career, which was cut short through injury at just 28, Catchpole became a regular voice on ABC’s Rugby coverage and served as Vice-President and President of the New South Wales Rugby Union.

Ken Catchpole sadly passed away aged 78 on December 22, 2017, after a long battle with illness.

Ken Catchpole Medal Winners:

HAMISH ANGUS (Warringah) 2019

ADRIAN MUSICO (Parramatta) 2018

TAYLOR ADAMS (West Harbour) 2017

WILL MILLER (Northern Suburbs) 2016

DAVID HORWITZ (Randwick) 2015

HAMISH ANGUS (Warringah) 2014

HUGH PERRETT (Eastwood) 2013

HAMISH ANGUS (Warringah) 2012

DAVE HARVEY (Northern Suburbs) 2011

BRENDAN MCKIBBIN (Eastern Suburbs) 2010

ANDREW SMITH (Northern Suburbs) 2009

DAVE HARVEY (Gordon) 2008

SCOTT FARDY (Warringah) 2008

GAVIN DEBARTOLO (Eastern Suburbs) 2007

PETER HEWAT (Manly) 2006

TIM DONNELLY (Eastwood) 2005

SCOTT FAVA (Eastwood) 2004

SCOTT FAVA (Eastwood) 2003

SCOTT FAVA (Eastwood) 2002

DES TUIAVI’I (West Harbour) 2001

SAM HARRIS (Warringah) 2000

KEITH GLEESON (Penrith) 1999

PETER BESSELING (Northern Suburbs) 1999

MARK CATCHPOLE (Sydney University) 1999

ADAM LEACH (Eastwood) 1997

DIR WILLIAMS (Eastern Suburbs) 1996

NICK HARVEY (Northern Suburbs) 1995

MARK CATCHPOLE (Warringah) 1994

PHIL KEARNS (Randwick) 1993

ROSS REYNOLDS (Gordon) 1992

MARTY ROEBUCK (Eastwood) 1991

MATT FOLDI (Warringah) 1990

SIMON POIDEVIN (Randwick) 1989

JIM FEWTRELL (Warringah) 1988

STEVEN LIDBURY (Warringah) 1987

SIONE TAHAAFE (Eastwood) 1986

DAVID NIU (St. George) 1986

PETER LUCAS (St. George) 1986

PHILIP COX (Manly) 1985

RICHARD MORIARTY (Western Suburbs) 1984

PETER LUCAS (St. George) 1983

GEOFF RICHARDS (Eastern Suburbs) 1982

NEALE MURPHY (Western Suburbs) 1981