Waratahs well represented in Wallaroos squad

· Womens International
NSW Rugby Union
by NSW Rugby

Wallaroos Head Coach, Dwayne Nestor has named a 39-player squad to assemble at the Australian Institute of Sport on Monday (8th) for their opening camp of the year. 

New South Wales is well represented, with 21 players selected for the camp. 

2020 Wallaroos and NSW Waratahs women’s captain Grace Hamilton was thrilled with the number of teammates selected, saying it is a great reward for the current program at the Waratahs.

“To have over half the squad made up of NSW players makes me incredibly proud and is a great reflection of our program and the commitment of the girls here.” Hamilton said.

“The professionalism at the Waratahs is improving year on year. We set incredibly high standards for ourselves and these selections are a just reward”.

Following the news of the postponement of the Rugby World Cup in 2021 to next year, a new Test schedule for 2021 is currently being drawn up for the team.

Buildcorp Wallaroos Head Coach Dwayne Nestor said: “It’s fantastic to get the squad together this early in the year as we look to continue our Rugby World Cup preparations, albeit a year later.

“We were fortunate to host a camp late in 2020 when all the borders opened, and next week’s camp will look to build on everything we worked on last year.

“These camps are invaluable in continuing to build belief in what we are doing. The players thrive in an environment where they can come together and be united whilst pushing each other to be better.”
“It’s about earning respect as a squad but also individually by developing this never give up attitude irrespective of what else is happening in the world,” Nestor said.

2021 Buildcorp Wallaroos Training Squad: 
Iliseva Batibasaga, NSW Waratahs
Emily Chancellor, NSW Waratahs
Bree-Anna Cheatham, Queensland Reds
Georgia Cormick, Melbourne Rebels
Lori Cramer, NSW Waratahs
Piper Duck, NSW Waratahs
Anita Faimasui-Brown, NSW Waratahs
Georgina Friedrichs, NSW Waratahs
Aleena Greenhalgh, Queensland Reds
Grace Hamilton, NSW Waratahs
Ariana Hira-Herangi, RugbyWA
Fiona Jones, NSW Waratahs
Eva Karpani, NSW Waratahs
Grace Kemp, Brumbies
Atasi Lafai, NSW Waratahs
Michaela Leonard, Brumbies
Lucy Lockhart, Queensland Reds
Nareta Marsters, Queensland Reds
Lillyann Mason, NSW Waratahs
Jemima McCalman, NSW Waratahs
Arabella McKenzie, NSW Waratahs
Michelle Milward, Brumbies
Tiarah Minns, Melbourne Rebels
Averyl Mitchell, Queensland Reds
Layne Morgan, NSW Waratahs
Mahalia Murphy, NSW Waratahs
Sera Naiqama, NSW Waratahs
Bridie O'gorman, NSW Waratahs
Liz Patu, Queensland Reds
Gabby Petersen, Brumbies
Pauline Piliae, NSW Waratahs
Trilleen Pomare, RugbyWA
Oneata Schwalger, NSW Waratahs
Christina Sekona, Queensland Reds
Cecilia Smith, Queensland Reds
Tayla Stanford, Brumbies
Maya Stewart, NSW Waratahs
Adiana Talakai, NSW Waratahs
Ashleigh Walker, Melbourne Rebels