13 NSW Waratahs feature in Australian Schools & U18S Side

Tue, Sep 26, 2023, 11:59 PM
Waratahs Media
by Waratahs Media

Australian Schools & U18s head coach Shannon Fraser has confirmed his side to face New Zealand Secondary Schools at Viking Park in Canberra on Thursday.

NSW Waratahs flanker Aden Ekanayake has been appointed captain for the opening clash and Hwi Sharples has been named as vice caption of the two-game series, with both fixtures to be broadcast live and on demand on Stan Sport.

The series marks the resumption of a trans-Tasman contest that was last held in 2019, when an Australian side featuring current Wallabies Tom Hooper and Zane Nonggorr defeated their New Zealand counterparts 18-14.

Australian School & U18s vs. New Zealand Secondary Schools Viking Park, Canberra 2.10pm AEST Thursday

  1. Macarius Pereira (QLD Reds, St Joseph's Nudgee College)
  2. Oliver Barrett (QLD Reds, St Joseph's Nudgee College)
  3. Will Goddard (NSW Waratahs, Knox Grammar School)
  4. Charlie Brosnan (QLD Reds, Brothers Rugby Club)
  5. Fergus Gillan (QLD Reds, The Southport School)
  6. Aden Ekanayake (NSW Waratahs, Gordon Rugby Club) (c)
  7. Wyatt Ballenger (Melbourne Rebels, Marcellin College)
  8. Samuel Niulala (NSW Waratahs, Trinity Grammar School)
  9. Luke Aiken (QLD Reds, Sunshine Coast Grammar School)
  10. Joe Walsh (NSW Waratahs, St Augustine's College)
  11. Shane Wilcox (ACT Brumbies, Tuggeranong Vikings Rugby Club)
  12. Dre Pakeho (QLD Reds, Brothers Rugby Club)
  13. Xavier Rubens (QLD Reds, Brisbane Boys College)
  14. Brendan Palmer (NSW Waratahs, Hunter Wildfires)
  15. Finn Prass (QLD Reds, Brothers Rugby Club)
  16. Lipina Ata (NSW Waratahs, Newington College)
  17. Nathaniel Tiitii (NSW Waratahs, The Kings School)
  18. Lehopo Leota (QLD Reds, Iona College)
  19. Lachlan Doheny (NSW Waratahs, Eastwood Rugby Club)
  20. Avery Thomson (QLD Reds, Brisbane Boys College)
  21. Austin Durbridge (NSW Waratahs, The Kings School)
  22. Toby Brial (NSW Waratahs, The Scots College) (vc)
  23. Boston Fakafonua (NSW Waratahs, The Kings School)
  24. Joey Fowler (Melbourne Rebels, Sydney University Rugby Club)
  25. Hwi Sharples (NSW Waratahs, St Joseph's College) (vc)
  26. Leo Jaques (NSW Waratahs, The Scots College)

Game 1 - 2.10pm AEST Thursday 28 September - Viking Park, Canberra Game 2 - 12.10pm AEST Monday 2 October - Viking Park, Canberra