Log in

Sydney and NSW Country announce round 2 teams

Fri, 06/09/2019, 2:00 am
Waratahs Media
by Waratahs Media

Both Sydney and the Eagles have released players for Randwick’s fixture with Argentina at Coogee Oval on Saturday 7 September.

Chris Whitaker’s Sydney side is the worst hit with Will Harrison, Mitch Short, James Ramm, Christian Poidevin and Ben Donaldson all missing – Lalakai Foketi will also miss through injury.

Jacob Abel earns a starting spot after an impressive showing off the bench in Round 1, while Hugh Sinclair makes his first appearance in the 2019 competition.

NSW Country lose co-captain Ned Hanigan, David Vea and Nathan Den Houdt to club duty with Randwick.

Rob Taylor welcomes Chris Talakai to the starting XV, along with Junior Wallaby, Mark Nawaqaintawse.

NSW Country Eagles (v Melbourne Rising):

STARTING XV: 1.Matt Sandell, 2.Aaron Blacklock, 3.Chris Talakai, 4.Connor Vest, 5.Tom Staniforth, 6.Pat Tafa, 7.Michael Icely, 8.Will Harris, 9.Jake Gordon ©, 10.Mack Mason, 11.James Kane, 12.Ofa Manuofetoa, 13.Nigel Ah Wong, 14. Mark Nawaqaintawse, 15.Tim Clements.

SUBS: 16.Wes Thomas, 17.Cody Walker, 18.Archie Hall, 19.Matt Foulds, 20.Rory Suttor, 21.Jack Grant, 22.Connor O'Shea, 23.Joey Walton, 24. Ben Woollett

Sydney (v Brisbane City):

STARTING XV: 1.Rory O'Connor, 2.Ed Craig, 3.Sham Vui, 4.Ryan McCauley, 5.Tuitakau Kioa, 6.Lachlan Swinton, 7.Josh Kemeny, 8.Hugh Sinclair, 9.Jacob Abel, 10.Tane Edmed, 11.Tailiki Nadredre, 12.Tyson Davis, 13.Cam Clark, 14.Trent Winterstein, 15.Jaline Graham

SUBS: 16.Joe Cotton, 17.Tom Osborne, 18.Charles Abel, 19.Jack Digby, 20.Jordan Goddard, 21.Michael McDonald, 22.Ellis Abrahams, 23.Henry Paterson

Match details:

Melbourne Rising v NSW Country

Saturday 7 September

Bailey Reserve, Adelaide

4.30pm AEST

LIVE on FOX SPORTS 505, Kayo Sports and RUGBY.com.au

Brisbane City v Sydney

Sunday 8 September

Bond University, Gold Coast

1pm AEST

Steamed LIVE on Kayo Sports and RUGBY.com.au