NRC round five NSW Men and Women flock to Goulburn for local derby

by Waratahs Media

The NSW Country Eagles will host the Sydney Rays following the final round of the Chikarovski Cup at Simon Poidevin Oval this Monday afternoon in the final NSW derby of 2017.

The Eagles get back to the country for the second week in a row after escaping Armidale with a victory at the death.

The Eagles have made one change to the starting line-up with NSW Waratah Ryan McCauley joining new Super Rugby teammate Tom Staniforth in the second row.

The Sydney Rays will be looking to bounce back after going down to a strong Queensland Country side last weekend.

The Rays backline will welcome back NSW Waratah centre Irae Simone, who was instrumental to the side’s 2016 NRC campaign before their exit in the semifinals.

Joining the men are the women of the inaugural Chikarovski Cup, where the Rays too will face the Eagles.

After defeating the Greater Sydney Rams back in round two at Pittwater Rugby Park, the Rays will need just one more victory to become the first ever team to secure the silverware.

On the other side of the fence, NSW Country, who went down to the fast-finishing Rams in round one, will be hungry to secure the first win of the season and will draw upon the talent from regional areas all the way from the Central West all the way to Illawarra and beyond.

This is the final round and deciding fixture of the Chikarovski Cup with the Rays needing a victory to be inaugural champions.

NRC: NSW Country Eagles vs Sydney Rays, Simon Poidevin Oval, Goulburn – 3pm AEST. Live on Fox Sports.

NSW Country Eagles

1 Paddy Ryan ©

2 Brandon Paenga-Amosa

3 Sam Needs

4 Tom Staniforth

5 Ryan McCauley

6 Rohan O’Regan

7 Maclean Jones

8 Sam Ward

9 Jake Gordon

10 Tayler Adams

11 Alex Gibbon

12 Kyle Godwin

13 Alex Newsome

14 Henry Clunies-Ross

15 Andrew Kellaway


16 Connal McInerney

17 Matt Gibbon

18 Harry Johnson-Holmes

19 Tim Buchanan

20 Nick Kellaway

21 Pat McCutcheon

22 Lachlan Anderson

23 Tom Hill  

Sydney Rays

1 David Lolohea

2 Damien Fitzpatrick ©

3 Alex Westgrath

4 Dave McDuling

5 Angus Ryan

6 James Brown

7 Tom Connor

8 Hugh Sinclair

9 Nick Duffy

10 Angus Sinclair

11 Latu Latunipulu

12 Rohan Saifolo

i13 Irae Simone

14 Josh Turner

15 Harry Burey


16 James Hilterbrand

17 Richie Vaihu

18 Wayne Borsak

19 Connor Vest

20 Bruce Kaino

21 Jack Grant

22 Kepu Lokotui

23 Rob Buaserau 

BYE: Greater Sydney Rams  

Chikarosvski Cup (Round Three): 

Sydney Rays

1 Emily Robinson

2 Amanda Taylor

3 Shelley Fox

4 Anna Andrzejewski

5 Gabby Hall

6 Manu Mehau

7 Aaliyah Fasavalu-Faamausili

8 Evelyn Horomia

9 Cobie-Jane Morgan

10 Chloe Leaupepe

11 Zara Lee

12 Ella Goldsmith

13 Amy Carpenter

14 Susannah Cooke

15 Anne Rutlidge


16 Maria Letufuga

17 Nik Buchanan

18 Lilin Tay

19 Yolanda Maiava

20 Remy Lowe

21 Matalena Wilson

22 Pheobe Loughhead

23 Hannah Seymour

NSW Country Eagles

1 Hayley Amm

2 Melissa Fatu

3 Jemima Henry

4 Maddi Ingram

5 Lisa Lamese

6 Chelsea Leau

7 Chantelle Lee

8 Dreyanne Malietoa

9 Mercey Malu

10 Inangaro Mareara

11 Elizabeth Mareara

12 Naomi Medlin

13 Kathleen Ostler

14 Kitiara Porter

15 Diana Taefu


16 Jade Wilson

17 Lillyann Mason

18 Teagan Miller

19 Violeta Tupleta

20 Stephanie Lennon

21 Marita Shoulders

22 Louisie Cook

23 Melissa Waterford