Seven NSW Women named in Wallaroos Squad for 2017 World Cup Campaign

· Womens Rugby World Cup
by Waratahs Media

The Ireland-bound side boast 156 caps of Test experience between them, with nine squad members having already played minutes at a Rugby World Cup.

The squad will also play host to three Women’s Aussie 7s stars in Shannon Parry, Mahalia Murphy and Sharni Williams.

Wallaroos Head Coach Paul Verrell said that the tour of New Zealand really grounded his side after three tough losses.

"We have had some solid preparation during our Test series in New Zealand earlier this month, and had the opportunity to blood some new talent at Test level,” said Verrell.

"That tour in New Zealand really showed us the standard of the best three teams in the world and we know what we need to do to reach that level now, so it's time for the next generation of Wallaroos to really step up.

"We have a really competitive pool with Ireland, France and Japan and we know that there's no such thing as an easy game at a World Cup. We're really looking forward to pulling on that gold jersey and doing it proud.”

Backrower Grace Hamilton is eyeing off her first trip to a World Cup, alongside fellow Sydney teammates and forwards Evelyn Horomia, Emily Robinson and Alexandra Sulusi.

Kayla Sauvao will join 15-test veteran Ashleigh Hewson in the Wallaroos squad after impressive back-to-back performances at the Buildcorp Women’s XV National Championship and the tour of New Zealand.

Country Corella Katrina Baker has also been included, and will be looking to inject her play-making ability into the side.

Star back Ashleigh Hewson needs just two more points to become the highest-points scorer in Wallaroos history to surpass the tally of former flyer Tricia Brown who scored 65 points.

The squad will convene in Sydney at the end of July for a three-day camp, ahead of flying out for Ireland on August 1.

The Wallaroos are in Pool C alongside hosts Ireland, as well as France and Japan.

2017 Rugby World Cup fixtures

Wallaroos v Ireland at UCD Bowl, Dublin, 10th August, 4am AEST

Wallaroos v France at UCD Bowl, Dublin, 14th August, 4.45am AEST

Wallaroos v Japan at Billings Park UCD, Dublin, 18th August, 2am AEST

Wallaroos 28-woman squad for 2017 Rugby World Cup


Millie Boyle, 3 Tests, ACT

Chloe Butler, 9 Tests, South Australia

Cheyenne Campbell, 12 Tests, Queensland

Rebecca Clough, 13 Tests, Western Australia

Mollie Gray, 8 Tests, Australian Services Rugby Union/Sydney

Grace Hamilton, 4 Tests, Sydney

Alisha Hewett, 12 Tests, Australian Services Rugby Union/Queensland

Evelyn Horomia, 2 Tests, Sydney

Kiri Lingman, 3 Tests, Queensland

Hana Ngaha, 4 Tests, Queensland

Shannon Parry, 10 Tests, Aussie 7s/Queensland

Liz Patu, 12 Tests, Queensland

Emily Robinson, 2 Tests, Sydney

Hilisha Samoa, 3 Tests, Queensland

Alexandra Sulusi, 3 Tests, Sydney

Violeta Tupuola, 2 Tests, ACT


Katrina Barker, 5 Tests, NSW Country

Fenella Hake, 3 Tests, Queensland

Ashleigh Hewson, 15 Tests, Sydney

Nareta Marsters, 4 Tests, Queensland

Mahalia Murphy*, Aussie 7s/Sydney

Trilleen Pomare*, Western Australia

Sarah Riordan, 4 Tests, Australian Services Rugby Union/NSW Country

Kayla Sauvao, 3 Tests, Sydney

Huia Swanell, 2 Tests, Western Australia

Ashleigh Timoko, 1 Test, Western Australia

Samantha Treherne, 3 Tests, Queensland

Sharni Williams, 14 Tests, Aussie 7s/ACT

*denotes uncapped player