NSW Waratahs name team for Round 1 against the Qld Reds

· Super Rugby - AU
by Waratahs Media

The NSW Waratahs will travel to Suncorp Stadium this Friday night to kick-off Super Rugby AU, taking on the Queensland Reds.

Head Coach, Rob Penney has named a squad full of young talent to take on the Reds, with seven players in line to make their NSW Waratahs debut.

Newly named captain Jake Gordon will partner Will Harrison in the halves, with Izaia Perese set to make his NSW Waratahs debut against his former side in the centres alongside Joey Walton.

Jack Maddocks named at fullback, will play his 50th Super Rugby match, and is joined in the back three by Alex Newsome and Wallabies squad member James Ramm.

Off season recruits Sam Caird and Jack Whetton form a brand-new locking combination, while Tom Horton gets the start at hooker joining Wallabies Angus Bell and Harry Johnson-Holmes in the front-row.

Carlo Tizzano gets first crack at Michael Hooper’s vacated seven jersey and forms an exciting backrow with Jack Dempsey and Will Harris.

Sio Tatola, Jack Grant, and NSW academy graduates Jeremy Williams and Tane Edmed are also in line to make their NSW Waratahs debuts from the bench.

Stan Sport is the only place to watch every minute of the action, with extensive coverage live and ad-free via Stan’s add-on sports package, with a game each round simulcast live free-to-air on 9Gem.

Pre-register for Stan Sport now to watch every minute of Super Rugby AU. The new add-on Sport package is available for just $10 a month with customers able to get a 30-day free trial for a limited time only.


No. Position name
2 HOOKER Tom Horton
3 TIGHTHEAD PROP Harry Johnson-Holmes
4 LEFT LOCK Sam Caird *
5 RIGHT LOCK Jack Whetton *
6 LEFT FLANKER Will Harris
7 RIGHT FLANKER Carlo Tizzano
8 NUMBER EIGHT Jack Dempsey
9 SCRUMHALF Jake Gordon (C)
10 FLYHALF Will Harrison
11 LEFT WING James Ramm
12 INSIDE CENTRE Joey Walton
13 OUTSIDE CENTRE Izaia Perese *
14 RIGHT WING Alex Newsome
15 FULLBACK Jack Maddocks
16 RESERVE David Porecki
17 RESERVE Te Tera Faulkner
18 RESERVE Sio Tatola *
19 RESERVE Jeremy Williams *
20 RESERVE Hugh Sinclair
21 RESERVE Jack Grant *
22 RESERVE Tane Edmed *
23 RESERVE Mark Nawaqanitawase

* NSW Waratahs debut