Brumbies retain Dan Vickerman Cup

· Super Rugby - AU
by Waratahs Media

The Brumbies have retained the Dan Vickerman Cup with a record 61-10 win over the NSW Waratahs at GIO Stadium in Round 2 of Super Rugby AU.



Rob Penney’s men got off to a solid start with a Will Harrison penalty goal giving the Waratahs a 3-0 lead after 4 minutes.

The Brumbies hit back with tries in quick succession, with Rob Valetini crashing over from close range in the 8th minute, and Mack Hansen finishing off a wraparound play from Noah Lolesio in the 12th minute.

Noah Lolesio was the unlikely beneficiary of the Brumbies rolling maul in the 25th minute finishing off the drive.
Harry Johnson-Holmes got the Waratahs back in the fight barging over from close range to close the gap to 19-10, but unfortunately that would be the last of the Waratahs scoring plays for the night.

The Brumbies returned to the rolling maul once again scoring through Conal McInerney after the half-time siren to give the home side a 26-10 lead at the break.

The second half didn’t get any better for the Waratahs, with some sloppy defence and poor handling allowing the Brumbies to run riot.

Nic White bumped off tacklers from close range for his try in the 43rd minute, while Mack Hansen grabbed his 2nd of the night off a cut out ball from Irae Simone from a 5m scrum.
The Brumbies went back to their set piece strength in the 62nd minute with reserve hooker Lachlan Lonergan crashing over from a rolling maul before Mack Hansen completed his hat-trick regaining a Len Ikitau grubber to score in the 71st minute.

Tom Banks finished the rout with his try in the 77th minute, with the sideline conversion from Ryan Lonergan giving the hosts the record 61-10 victory. 
Despite the result it was a special night for Henry Robertson and Triston Reilly who both made their NSW Waratahs debuts.

The NSW Waratahs will look ahead to their first home match of the season when they take on the Western Force at Bankwest Stadium in Round 3.



Brumbies 61 (Tries: Hansen 3, Valetini, Lolesio, McInerney, White, L.Lonergan, Banks Conversions: Lolesio 5, R.Lonergran 2 Penalties: ) defeated Waratahs 10 (Tries: Johnson-Holmes Conversions: Harrison, Penalties: Harrison) at GIO Stadium, Canberra

WARATAHS (1-15): Angus Bell, Tom Horton, Harry Johnson-Holmes, Sam Caird, Jack Whetton, Lachlan Swinton, Carlo Tizzano, Jack Dempsey, Jack Grant, Will Harrison, James Ramm, Tepai Moeroa, Alex Newsome, Mark Nawaqanitawase, Jack Maddocks

Reserves: Dave Porecki, Te Tera Faulkner, Sio Tatola, Jeremy Williams, Hugh Sinclair, Henry Robertson, Tane Edmed, Triston Reilly

BRUMBIES: (1-15): James Slipper, Connal McInerney, Allan Alaalatoa (c), Darcy Swain, Cadeyrn Neville, Rob Valetini, Jahrome Brown, Pete Samu, Nic White, Noah Lolesio, Mack Hansen, Irae Simone, Len Ikitau, Andy Muirhead, Tom Banks

Reserves: Lachlan Lonergan, Harry Lloyd, Tom Ross, Nick Frost, Tom Cusack, Ryan Lonergan, Reesjan Pasitoa, Issak Fines-Leleiwasa