Waratahs A brush aside Brumby Runners

Fri, Mar 12, 2021, 6:05 AM
NSW Rugby
by NSW Rugby

The clouds parted and the rain held off for a hot and humid match at Waratahs HQ, with a small but vocal crowd watching on.

The Waratah’s A side got off to the perfect start, dominating the opening 20 minutes, scoring three unanswered tries.

Joe Cotton crashed over from a rolling maul in the 5th minute, while number 8 Langi Gleesson grabbed his own try in the 11th minute with a barnstorming 20 metre break up the middle. 

Henry Robertson grabbed the 3rd try for the Waratahs finishing off a long run from Jeremy Williams in the 19th minute, to extend the lead to 21-0.

The Brumby Runners finally hit back in the 25th minute with a try from Sam Thomas, diving over from a rolling maul to close to the gap to 21-7.

Nathan Russell scored in the corner to end the half from a cut out ball from Tane Edmed, giving the hosts a 28-7 lead at the break.

The Brumby Runners started stronger in the second half, closing the gap to 28-14, with Luke Reiner crashing over from close range in the 50th minute.

The Waratahs A didn’t wait long to hit back with Jeremy Williams again the danger man, making a nice break down the left wing before unleashing Triston Reilly to score in the 53rd minute for 33-14 lead.

The home side kept pushing, and Max Douglas extended the lead, pick and driving from close range to make the score 40-14 in the 61st minute.

The Brumby Runners showed they still had plenty of fight left, punishing a Waratahs mistake off the kick-off, with Luke Gersekowski dotting down in the corner in the 63rd minute.  Tony Alofipo missed the conversion leaving the score 40-19.

Triston Reilly had the final say of the match, finishing off his own charge down to score his 2nd try of the match in the 72nd minute.  Tane Edmed kicked the conversion, ending the match 6/7 form the boot, making the final score 47-19.

Waratahs A’s 47 (Tries: Reilly 2, Cotton, Douglas, Russell, Gleeson, Robertson Conversions: Edmed 6) defeated Brumby Runners 19 (Tries: Thomas, Reiner, Gersekowski Conversions: Iona 2) at Waratahs HQ, Daceyville.

WARATAHS A’s (1-15): Sio Tatola, Joe Cotton, Darcy Breen, Sam Wykes, Max Douglas, Jeremy Williams, Charlie Gamble, Langi Gleeson, Henry Robertson, Tane Edmed, Triston Reilly, Kristian Jensen, Lalakai Foketi, Mosese Tuipolotu, Harry Wilson

Reserves: Valance Yates, Adrian Brown, Conor Davidson, Jack Digby, Michael Icely, Mitch Short, Max Burey, Ben Dowling, Nathan Russell
BRUMBY RUNNERS (1-15): Fred Kaihea, Sam Thomas, Oscar Cunningham, Will Sankey, Callum MacDonald, Rory Scott, Luke Reimer, Tamati Ioane, Pedro Rolando ©, Tony Alofipo, Junior Tupou, Rodney Iona, Reece Tapine, Tom Haddad, Tim Clements

Reserves: Liki Chan-Tung, Max Bode, Remsy Lemisio, Jed Stuart, Luke Gersekowski, Zeph Tuinona, Seamus Smith, Will Goddard, Mila Lalotoa, Corey Toole