Hooper and Duck take out top honours at Waratahs 2023 awards night

Mon, Aug 7, 2023, 10:45 AM
Waratahs Media
by Waratahs Media

The NSW Waratahs celebrated their 2023 season at the annual NSW Waratahs Awards Night, with Michael Hooper and Piper Duck taking home the top honours.

Hooper got his fairytale finish in his final Super Rugby season by claiming the Matt Burke Cup for a record eighth time following his outstanding form and leadership throughout the 2023 Super Rugby Pacific Season.

Hooper was selected by his peers as the side’s best player across the calendar year, joining the likes of past winners Phil Waugh, Tatafu Polota-Nau, Wycliff Palu, Izaia Perese, and Dave Dennis.

Piper Duck has won the Waratahs Women’s Player of the Year award as she maintained her leadership on and off the field despite setbacks with injuries.

It has been a breakout year for Duck, not only was she named as the youngest-ever Super W captain, she was also selected as the youngest-ever Wallaroos captain.

Rising star, Max Jorgensen was awarded the Chris Whitaker Aspiring Waratah Medal. In his debut season of Super Rugby, Jorgensen rise has been meteoric from transitioning as of our brightest Schoolboy Rugby talents in Australia to starting fullback for the NSW Waratahs and Wallaby squad member.

Full list of 2023 NSW Waratahs Award Winners:

Waratahs Women’s Rookie of the Year – Leilani Nathan

Waratahs Women’s Best Back – Layne Morgan

Waratahs Women’s Best Forward – Fi Jones

Waratahs Women’s Player of the Year – Piper Duck

Chris Whitaker Aspiring Waratah Medal – Max Jorgensen

Waratahs Men’s Best Back – Jake Gordon

Waratahs Men’s Best Forward – David Porecki

Matt Burke Cup – Michael Hooper