Log in

Hooper and Hanigan return for Highlanders hitout

Wed, 18/05/2022, 7:00 am
Waratahs Media
by Waratahs Media
Michael Hooper has been named to start for the Waratahs against the Highlanders
Michael Hooper has been named to start for the Waratahs against the Highlanders

The NSW Waratahs have named their team to face the Highlanders in Round 14 of the Harvey Norman Super Rugby Pacific competition.

Waratahs Head Coach Darren Coleman has added five new faces to his starting team and three to his bench that went down 22-18 against the Hurricanes at Leichhardt Oval.

Te Tera Faulkner trades places with Angus Bell, joining Dave Porecki and Archer Holz in the starting front row.

Jed Holloway misses the trip to Dunedin, allowing Geoff Cridge to start in the second row with Hugh Sinclair.

Wallaby captain Michael Hooper makes a welcome return to the back row joining Will Harris and Langi Gleeson, while Rahoni Warren-Vosayco and Ned Hanigan are set to provide plenty of impact from the bench.

Waratahs Head Coach Darren Coleman said, “As a coaching staff we feel it’s a good opportunity for Jed Holloway and Charlie Gamble to freshen up this week. They’ve had a heavy workload this season and it’s an arduous travel schedule getting to Dunedin and back, so we’ve decided it’s in our best interests to keep them in Sydney.”

“It’s the first time we’ve gone a six-two split on the bench and I really like the idea of having six fresh forwards finishing the game.

“Having Michael Hooper back in the starting team and Ned coming off the bench gives us a real boost and helps offset the loss of Jed and Charlie.”

Jake Gordon continues to develop his partnership in the halves with Tane Edmed, while Alex Newsome has been named at outside centre in place of the injured Izaia Perese (knee).

Ben Donaldson has been named at fullback for the first time this season with Dylan Pietsch and Mark Nawaqanitawase once again named on the wings.

“Donno has been knocking at the door for the last few weeks and has made some good cameos off the bench,” Coleman said.

“Izzy’s injury gives us the chance to get him back into the starting team and he adds an extra dimension to our attack with his kicking game and ball-playing abilities.”


1 Te Tera Faulkner (Southern Districts/ Moorabin Rams/ Marist College Canberra)

2 Dave Porecki (Manly/ Manly Roos/ Redlands)

3 Archer Holz (Eastern Suburbs/ Kings School)

4 Geoff Cridge (West Harbour/ Darfield Rugby Club/ Christchurch Boys High)

5 Hugh Sinclair (Northern Suburbs/ Lindfield/ S.H.O.R.E)

6 Langi Gleeson (Manly/ Harbord Harlequins/ St Augustines)

7 Michael Hooper (Manly/ Manly Roos/ St Pius X College)

8 Will Harris (Eastern Suburbs/ Hunters Hill/ Scots College)

9 Jake Gordon (Sydney Uni/ Canterbury/ Blackwattle Bay)

10 Tane Edmed (Eastwood/ Trinity Grammar)

11 Dylan Pietsch (Randwick/ Leeton Phantoms/ Kings School)

12 Lalakai Foketi (Manly/ Manly Roos/ Kings)

13 Alex Newsome (Eastern Suburbs/ Glen Innes Elks/ St Joseph’s College)

14 Mark Nawaqanitawase (Eastwood/ St Patrick’s College)

15 Ben Donaldson (Randwick/ Clovelly Eagles/ Waverly College)


16 Mahe Vailanu (Gordon/ Auckland Grammar School)

17 Angus Bell (Sydney Uni/ Hunters Hill/ Newington College)

18 Paddy Ryan (Sydney University/ Tamworth Tricolours/ St Joseph’s College)

19 Jeremy Williams (Eastern Suburbs/ Wahroonga Tigers/ Scots College)

20 Ned Hanigan (Randwick/ Coonamble Rams/ St Joseph’s College)

21 Rahboni Warren-Vosayaco (Southern Districts/ Endeavour Sports High)

22 Jack Grant (Eastern Suburbs/ Orange City Lions/ St Ignatius College)

23 Jamie Roberts (Warringah/ Rumney RFC/ Ysgol Glantaf)

Match Details NSW Waratahs v Highlanders Sunday 22 May – Forsyth Barr Stadium, Dunedin Kick-off 1:35pm (AEST) Live on Stan Sport