Log in

Hurricanes run down Waratahs 22-18 at Leichhardt Oval

Sat, 14/05/2022, 1:21 pm
Waratahs Media
by Waratahs Media

The Hurricanes have run down the Waratahs 22-18 at Leichhardt Oval.

The Hurricanes have overturned a 15-0 deficit to stun the Waratahs to 22-18 at Leichhardt Oval. On a beautiful night in the Inner-West of Sydney, the Waratahs faithful turned out in droves with a crowd of 11,381 packing the hill at the “eighth wonder of the world”.

Darren Coleman couldn’t have asked for a better start from his team as they raced out to a 15-0 lead in the first half, dominating possession and territory.

The Waratahs’ scrum was a major weapon receiving penalties at will while Izaia Perese and Lalakai Foketi were damaging with the ball in hand.

Tane Edmed got the first points of the match through a penalty goal in the 4th minute, before Rahboni Warren-Vosayaco grabbed the first try of the match, finishing off a dominant five-metre attacking scrum.

Jed Holloway almost set up a try for Dylan Pietsch with a barnstorming run up the middle before Perese set up his winger with an audacious offload for the Waratahs to race to a 15-0 lead in the break.

The Hurricanes came out firing in the second half, levelling the score at 15 apiece through tries to Tevita Mafelio and Bailyn Sullivan.

Ben Donaldson got the Waratahs in front with a 40m penalty goal in the 67th minute before the Hurricanes skipper Ardie Savea scored a short-range try in the 74th minute after sustained pressure on the Waratahs line.

"It feels like it got away from us that game," Waratahs skipper Jake Gordon told Stan Sport.

"We controlled possession in the first half, but they came out of the blocks really quickly in that second half and we had trouble controlling that.

"We had opportunities to complete, and we didn't."

The Waratahs take on the Highlanders next Sunday at Forsyth Barr Stadium.

WARATAHS (1-15) Angus Bell, Dave Porecki, Archer Holz, Jed Holloway, Hugh Sinclair, Will Harris, Charlie Gamble, Rahboni Warren-Vosayaco, Jake Gordon (c), Tane Edmed, Dylan Pietsch, Lalakai Foketi, Izaia Perese, Mark Nawaqanitawase, Alex Newsome

RESERVES: Mahe Vailanu, Teterta Faulkner, Paddy Ryan, Max Douglas, Langi Gleeson, Jack Grant, Ben Donaldson, Triston Reilly

HURRICANES (1-15): Xavier Numia, Asafo Aumua, Tyrel Lomax, James Blackwell, Justin Sangster, Blake Gibson, Du'Plessis Kirifi, Ardie Savea (c), Jamie Booth, Aidan Morgan, Salesi Rayasi, Jordie Barrett, Bailyn Sullivan, Julian Savea, Josh Moorby

RESERVES: Dane Coles, Tevita Mafielo, Owen Franks, Isaia Walker-Leawere, TK Howden, Cam Roigard, Jackson Garden-Bachop, Billy Proctor