Maya Stewart, Emily Robinson, and Asatasi Lafai named in Wallaroos squad to face Black Ferns

Tue, Aug 2, 2022, 7:00 AM
Waratahs Media
by Waratahs Media
Maya Stewart has returned from an ACL injury and has been selected in the Wallaroos squad to face the Black Ferns
Maya Stewart has returned from an ACL injury and has been selected in the Wallaroos squad to face the Black Ferns

Head coach Jay Tregonning has announced a 32-player squad set to travel to Christchurch to play the Black Ferns on 20 August, before coming home to Adelaide to play the second game of the series on 27 August as part of a double-header with the Wallabies.

Once again NSW is well represented with a total of 18 Waratahs players selected in the 32 player squad.

Headlining the squad is the return of Waratahs star winger Maya Stewart in a training capacity while she recovers from an ACL injury sustained in the pre-season of this year’s Super W campaign.

Another new addition is Australian Sevens spark Bienne Terita who comes into the squad after last playing in New Zealand during the Oceania Super Sevens Series.

Also looking to make their debuts are Bree-anna Cheetham, Siokapesi Palu, Melanie Wilks and Tania Nadan who have been part of the Buildcorp Wallaroos previous squads but have not yet seen the field in a gold jersey.

Emily Robinson makes her way back into the Buildcorp Wallaroos front-row alongside Liz Patu, Bree-anna Cheatham, Madison Shuck, Eva Karpani, and Bridie O'Gorman.

Brumbies hooker Tania Nadan has been named once again, following her first appearance in camp leading up to The Road To New Zealand test series on the Gold Coast.

Second Rower Atasi Lafai returns to the side from injury after not playing for the Buildcorp Wallaroos in 2022 joining mainstay locks in the squad Michaela Leonard, Kaitlan Leaney, and Sera Naiqama.

Captain Shannon Parry is also named in the backrow alongside Grace Hamilton and Emily Chancellor, with key performers Piper Duck and Grace Kemp also eyeing a starting jersey in the series.

The side has opted for experience in the halves with Iliseva Batibasaga, Layne Morgan, Arrabella McKenzie and Trilleen Pomare all being named in the side with every player having seen international competition throughout 2022.

Newly crowned Waratahs Women’s Player of the Year Georgina Friedrichs headlines the centres, with Cecilia Smith, Siokapesi Palu and Melanie Wilks.

Lori Cramer and Pauline Piliae-Rasabale maintain their hold on the fullback position, looking to build on what has already been a stellar year for both players.

The squad is comprised of four Brumbies, 18 NSW Waratahs, seven Queensland Reds, one Melbourne Rebel and one from the Western Force.

Buildcorp Wallaroos Wallaroos Head Coach Jay Tregonning said: “We’ve learnt a lot from our last tour to New Zealand for the Pacific 4 Series, and we have adjusted this squad accordingly to continue building for the Rugby World Cup later this year.

“Key players have returned to the side from injury, and we are making steps forward to ensure we have the strongest squad possible ahead of the tournament in October.

“We are excited to see what Bienne (Terita) can bring to the side, she has been extremely impressive for the Aussie Sevens and her speed and skills are important attributes to add to our already strong outside backs.

“The team is looking forward to more game time in the O’Reilly Cup to further develop our combinations and chemistry – both away in Christchurch, and at home in Adelaide for the firs time as part of a huge double-header with the Wallabies.”

Tickets to the Wallaroos vs Black Ferns game in Adelaide are available now via Ticketek here.

Watch every Wallaroos Test ad-free, live & on Demand on Stan Sport. Start your free Stan Sport trial now.

Buildcorp Wallaroos O’Reilly Cup Squad (Tests played, team)

Iliseva Batibasaga (20 caps, NSW Waratahs)

Emily Chancellor (10 caps, NSW Waratahs)

Bree-anna Cheatham* (Queensland Reds)

Lori Cramer (9 caps, NSW Waratahs)

Piper Duck (5 caps, NSW Waratahs)

Georgina Friedrichs (5 caps, NSW Waratahs)

Grace Hamilton (20 caps, NSW Waratahs)

Eva Karpani (7 caps, NSW Waratahs)

Grace Kemp (1 cap, Brumbies)

Atasi Lafai (2 caps, NSW Waratahs)

Kaitlan Leaney (5 caps, NSW Waratahs)

Michaela Leonard (9 caps, Brumbies)

Ashley Marsters (15 caps, Melbourne Rebels)

Arabella McKenzie (9 caps, NSW Waratahs)

Layne Morgan (5 caps, NSW Waratahs)

Mahalia Murphy (16 caps, NSW Waratahs)

Tania Naden* (Brumbies)

Sera Naiqama (3 caps, NSW Waratahs)

Bridie O'Gorman (5 caps, NSW Waratahs)

Siokapesi Palu* (Brumbies)

Shannon Parry (17 caps, Queensland Reds)

Liz Patu (28 caps, Queensland Reds)

Pauline Piliae-Rasabale (5 caps, NSW Waratahs)

Trilleen Pomare (16 caps, Western Force)

Emily Robinson (11 caps, NSW Waratahs)

Madison Schuck (5 caps, Queensland Reds)

Cecilia Smith (3 caps, Queensland Reds)

Maya Stewart* (NSW Waratahs)

Adiana Talakai (3 caps, NSW Waratahs)

Bienne Terita* (Australian Sevens)

Melanie Wilks* (Queensland Reds)

Ivania Wong (3 caps, Queensland Reds)

*denotes uncapped