NSW Waratahs 2022 Season Award Winners revealed

Fri, Jul 22, 2022, 12:00 PM
Waratahs Media
by Waratahs Media

Jed Holloway has capped a stunning return to the Waratahs by winning the Matt Burke Cup following his impressive form in the 2022 Harvey Norman Super Rugby Pacific competition.

Holloway was selected by his peers as the side’s best player across the calendar year, joining the likes of past winners Izaia Perese, Michael Hooper, Tatafu Polota-Nau, Wycliff Palu, Phil Waugh, and Dave Dennis.

The Waratahs lock led the competition in lineout wins (73) and was also awarded the captaincy in Jake Gordon’s absence. Holloway’s strong form was rewarded with selection in Dave Rennie’s Wallaby squad to face England however a calf complaint suffered at training ruled him out of the series.

Dylan Pietsch joined Holloway in the winner’s circle and was named winner of the Chris Whitaker Aspiring Waratah Medal. In his debut season of Super Rugby, Pietsch featured in 15 matches, scoring five tries and leading the team in defenders beaten (40).

Fan favorite Charlie Gamble has been awarded the Waratahs Best Forward, after a breakout season in sky-blue. Gamble led the team in turnovers won (22), tackles made (197), and finished the season with an incredible 96% tackle success rate.

Waratahs skipper Jake Gordon was named the Waratahs Best Back, leading the team superbly and making the most tackles by any back, and scoring three tries along the way.

The Waratahs Super W side finished runners-up to the Fijian Drua but maintained their incredible undefeated streak against Australian teams that now stretches across five seasons.

Georgie Friedrichs has taken out the Waratahs Women’s player of the year award, playing every game of the season including scoring two tries. Friedrichs dominant form was rewarded with selection in the Wallaroos squad for the Pacific Four Nations, where she started every match in the tournament.

Mahalia Murphy took out the Waratahs Women’s Best Back award, continuing her try-scoring form in the 2022 campaign with an incredible ten tries in just five matches.

Emily Chancellor has been named the Waratahs Women’s Best Forward for the second season in a row, acknowledging her incredible efforts at the breakdown and work rate around the park.

Tatum Bird was named the Waratahs Women’s Rookie of the Year scoring two tries in her debut season.

2022 NSW Waratahs Award Winners:

Waratahs Women’s Rookie of the Year – Tatum Bird

Waratahs Women’s Best Back – Mahlia Murphy

Waratahs Women’s Best Forward – Emily Chancellor

Waratahs Women’s Player of the Year – Georgina Friedrichs

Chris Whitaker Aspiring Waratah Medal – Dylan Pietsch

Waratahs Best Back – Jake Gordon

Waratahs Best Forward – Charlie Gamble

Matt Burke Cup – Jed Holloway