NSW Waratahs name team to face the Force

Wed, Mar 9, 2022, 6:00 AM
Waratahs Media
by Waratahs Media

The NSW Waratahs have named their team to face the Western Force in Round 4 of the Harvey Norman Super Rugby Pacific competition.

NSW Waratahs Head Coach Darren Coleman has added one new face to his starting XV that narrowly lost to the Brumbies in Round Three.

Harry Johnson-Holmes, David Porecki and Angus Bell will again line up in the front row for the fourth consecutive week.

Geoff Cridge is racing the clock to return from an ankle injury suffered against the Reds, with Max Douglas named in the second row alongside Jed Holloway.

Hugh Sinclair again starts at blindside with the ever-improving Charlie Gamble and the competition’s equal leading try-scorer Will Harris (3) rounding out the back-row.

Jake Gordon continues to develop his combination with the competition’s leading point scorer Ben Donaldson (36 points) in the halves.

Izaia Perese, fresh off re-signing with the Waratahs for a further two seasons, leads the competition in defenders beaten (17) and will partner Wallaby teammate Lalakai Foketi in the centres.

Will Harrison returns to the starting XV for the first time in 2022 at fullback, with Alex Newsome moving to the wing in the place of the injured James Turner (ankle).

Waratah’s Head Coach Darren Coleman has named a six-two split on the bench with Mark Nawaqanitawase set to make his first appearance in Super Rugby Pacific after some strong performances in the Waratah A’s matches against the Brumby Runners.

Waratahs team to take on the Force

1 Angus Bell (Sydney Uni/ Hunters Hill/ Newington College)

2 David Porecki (Manly/ Manly Roos/ Redlands)

3 Harry Johnson-Holmes (Sydney Uni/ Cowra Eagles/ Merewether High School)

4 Jed Holloway (Southern Districts/ Yamba Buccaneers/ Waverley College)

5 Max Douglas (Manly/ Harbord Harlequins/ St Augustines College)

6 Hugh Sinclair (Northern Suburbs/ Lindfield/ S.H.O.R.E)

7 Charlie Gamble (Eastern Suburbs/ Saracens/ St Bede’s College)

8 Will Harris (Eastern Suburbs/ Hunters Hill/ Scots College)

9 Jake Gordon (Sydney Uni/ Canterbury/ Blackwattle Bay)

10 Ben Donaldson (Randwick/ Clovelly Eagles/ Waverley College)

11 Alex Newsome (Eastern Suburbs/ Glen Innes Elks/ St Joseph’s College)

12 Lalakai Foketi (Manly/ Manly Roos/ Kings School)

13 Izaia Perese (Randwick/ Aspley State School/ Anglican Church Grammar)

14 Dylan Pietsch (Randwick/ Leeton Phantoms/ Kings School)

15 Will Harrison (Randwick/ Clovelly Eagles/ Marcellin College)

Replacements: 16 Tom Horton (Sydney Uni/ Mosman Whales/ St Joseph’s College)/ Mahe Vailanu (Gordon/ Auckland Grammar School)

17 Te Tera Faulkner (Southern Districts/ Moorabin Rams/ Marist College Canberra)

18 Ruan Smith (Hunter Wildfire / Paarl Gimnasium)

19 Jeremy Williams (Eastern Suburbs/ Wahroonga Tigers/ Scots College) / Geoffrey Cridge (West Harbour/ Darfield Rugby Club/ Christchurch Boys High)

20 Langi Gleeson (Manly/ Harbord Harlequins/ St Augustines College)

21 Carlo Tizzano (West Harbour/ UWA Rugby Club/ Trinity College WA)

22 Jack Grant (Eastern Suburbs/ Orange City Lions/ St Ignatius College)

23 Mark Nawaqanitawase (Eastwood/ St Patrick’s College)

Players unavailable for selection:

Lachlan Swinton (Shoulder TBC)

Rahboni Warren-Vosayaco – Hip (Round 5)

James Ramm – Ribs (Round 5)

James Turner – Ankle (Round 6-7)

Mosese Tuipulotu – Knee (Round 11+)

Joey Walton – ACL (Season)

Michael Hooper – Foot (TBC)