NSW Waratahs unveil 2022 Super Rugby Pacific squad

Sun, Nov 21, 2021, 7:15 PM
Waratahs Media
by Waratahs Media

The NSW Waratahs have today announced their squad for the upcoming 2022 Super Rugby Pacific competition, displaying a mix of new signings, returning veterans, and a commitment to developing local talent.

Headlining the Waratahs 2022 squad is the return of Wallabies captain Michael Hooper after a sabbatical in Japan with Toyota Verblitz and a stunning international season where he is currently nominated for World Rugby Player of the Year.

Ned Hanigan and Jed Holloway will also return to Daceyville in 2022 after stints in Japan Rugby League One with Kurita Water Gush and Toyota Verblitz.

The Waratahs have also added experienced front-rower Ruan Smith and NRL recruit Tevita Funa who was named Manly Sea Eagles Rookie of the Year in 2020.

The Waratahs development pathway has continued to provide the side plenty of talent with TiaanTauakipulu, Max Douglas, Jack Grant, Tane Edmed and Triston Reilly all elevated from Wider Playing Squad contracts in 2021 to Core Playing Squad contracts in 2022.

Waratahs General Manager of Rugby Andrew Blades said “The squad is shaping up nicely for our 2022 campaign with the addition of some key experienced players to complement the younger core who have had their development accelerated in the past 12 months.

“Our squad will benefit from their experiences in the 2021 season, and with another tough pre-season under their belts will look to make some serious improvements next year.

“We are looking to finalise our roster in the coming months as we still have couple of positions still up for grabs with a number of promising club players pressing their claims in our extended training squad.”

Waratahs Head Coach Darren Coleman will lead the coaching staff of forwards coach Pauli Taumoepeau, Backs Coach Chris Whitaker and Defence coach Jason Gilmore.

Waratahs 2022 Memberships on are on sale – click here

The Waratahs open their 2022 Super Rugby Pacific against the Hurricanes on Friday 18 February with a venue to be announced soon.

NSW Waratahs 2022 Core Playing Squad

Forwards Angus Bell (Sydney University), Tiaan Tauakipulu (Randwick), Te Tera Faulkner (Southern Districts), Harry Johnson-Holmes (Sydney University), Ruan Smith (Hunter Wildfires)

Hookers David Porecki (Manly), Tom Horton (Sydney University)

Locks Max Douglas (Manly), Jed Holloway (Southern Districts), Ned Hanigan (Randwick), Hugh Bokenham (Sydney University)

Backrow Rahboni Warren-Vosayaco (Southern Districts), Lachie Swinton (Sydney University), Carlo Tizzano (West Harbour), Michael Hooper (Manly), Will Harris (Eastern Suburbs), Hugh Sinclair (Northern Suburbs)

Halves Jack Grant (Eastern Suburbs), Jake Gordon (Sydney University), Will Harrison (Randwick), Tane Edmed (Eastwood), Ben Donaldson (Randwick)

Centres Joey Walton (Gordon), Lalakai Foketi (Manly), Izaia Perese (Randwick)

Outside Backs

Mark Nawaqanitawase (Eastwood), Alex Newsome (Eastern Suburbs), James Ramm (Randwick), Triston Reilly (Randwick), Tevita Funa (Western Sydney Two Blues)


NSW Rugby are a proud part of Rugby AU

© 2024 Rugby Australia. All rights reserved. Part of the Rugby Network