TEAM LIST: Waratahs v Highlanders

Wed, Mar 6, 2024, 2:55 AM
Waratahs Media
by Waratahs Media

The NSW Waratahs have named their team to face the Highlanders in Round 3 of the Super Rugby Pacific this Friday at 7:35pm AEDT at Allianz Stadium.

NSW defeated the reigning champions, the Crusaders, without the services of Izaia Perese in Round 2, but the star outside centre will return from concussion for the Waratahs' first home game of the year.

Perese's return sees Harry Wilson, who scored a brilliant try in the victory over the Crusaders, revert back to the reserves list.

After making a noticeable difference from the interchange bench in his return from injury last week, Head Coach Darren Coleman has rewarded Ned Hanigan with a starting birth at blindside flanker.

Dylan Pietsch didn't feature in the second half after sustaining a nasty poke to the eye and in his absence, Triston Reilly scored a terrific try in the win over the Crusaders, and the former West Tiger will retain his place on the left wing.

Former ACT Brumbies tighthead prop, Tom Ross has been selected in the reserves and will make his Waratahs debut once he enters the field.

Hugh Sinclair, who scored his first Super Rugby try last Saturday, will line up for his 50th Super Rugby match this Friday. Sinclair played his first seven games with the Rebels.

"You never really think about the personal milestones, but it's a pretty cool achievement to play 50 Super Rugby games," Sinclair said.

"I'm thankful to both organisations and the coaches that I've been involved with. It's also special to reach this milestone in front of a home crowd at Allianz.

"The win over the Crusaders was a good confidence booster but we've parked it and are focused on the match against the Highlanders. People are calling it a massive upset, but if we want to be a good team, we've just got to call it a win and back it up."


1. Loosehead Prop

2. Hooker

3. Tighthead Prop

4. Left Lock

5. Right Lock

6. Left Flanker

7. Right Flanker

8. Number 8

9. Scrumhalf

10. Flyhalf

11. Left Wing

12. Inside Centre

13. Outside Centre

14. Right Wing

15. Fullback

16. Reserve

17. Reserve

18. Reserve

19. Reserve

20. Reserve

21. Reserve

22. Reserve

23. Reserve


Angus Bell (Sydney University)

Mahe Vailanu (Gordon)

Harry Johnson-Holmes (Sydney University)

Jed Holloway (Southern Districts)

Hugh Sinclair (Northern Suburbs)

Ned Hanigan (Randwick)

Charlie Gamble (Eastern Suburbs)

Langi Gleeson (Manly)

Jake Gordon © (Sydney University)

Tane Edmed (Eastwood)

Triston Reilly (Randwick)

Joey Walton (Gordon)

Izaia Perese (Randwick)

Mark Nawaqanitawase (Eastwood)

Max Jorgensen (Randwick)

Julian Heaven (Eastern Suburbs)

Hayden Thompson-Stringer (Manly)

Tom Ross (Northern Suburbs) **

Miles Amatosero (Eastern Suburbs)

Fergus Lee-Warner (Eastern Suburbs)

Teddy Wilson (Eastern Suburbs)

Harry Wilson (Eastern Suburbs)

Mosese Tuipulotu (Eastern Suburbs)

** Denotes potential club debut.

Players unavailable for selection:

  • David Porecki - Achillies (Round 4+)
  • Thomas Lambert - Knee (Season)
  • Archer Holz - Shoulder (Round 8)
  • Mesu Kunavula – Knee (Season)
  • Lachlan Swinton - Neck (Indefinite)
  • Lalakai Foketi - Neck (Indefinite)
  • Dylan Pietsch - Eye (Round 4)

Match Details

Super Rugby Pacific - Round 3: NSW Waratahs v Highlanders.

Friday March 8 at Allianz Stadium.

Kick-off 7:35pm AEDT.

Tickets are available here.

The match will be broadcast live and ad-free on Stan Sport.