Team News – Returning Wallaby to strengthen the side for the clash against Fijian Drua

Thu, May 18, 2023, 1:59 AM
Waratahs Media
by Waratahs Media

The NSW Waratahs have named their team to take on Fijian Drua in Round 13 of the Harvey Norman Super Rugby Pacific competition.

Waratahs Head Coach Darren Coleman has made just one change to the starting XV and two changes to this weekend’s reserves, including the return of Taleni Seu and Wallaby Ned Hanigan.

The starting front row remains the same for the third week in a row. David Porecki, Harry Johnson-Holmes and Te Tera Faulkner look to continue their good form at scrum time. Jed Holloway and Hugh Sinclair will partner together back in the second row. Lineouts were a key for the Waratahs last Saturday, Holloway leads the competition in stolen lineouts (9), two more than any other player in the competition.

Will Harris returns as the blindside flanker; he will be joined by Michael Hooper who is now fifth in the competition for tackles made (127). Langi Gleeson had another standout performance, playing a solid 75 minutes and led the team in carries with 9.

Jake Gordon and Ben Donaldson continue in the halves. Gordon was awarded player of the match against the Melbourne Rebels where Donaldson made a statement performance, with one try assist and kicking perfectly from the tee.

Joey Walton moves into the starting XV, replacing injured Lalakai Foketi. Walton will bring depth to this backline as a second five-eight option. Try scorer Izaia Perese will resume at outside centre.

Mark Nawaqanitawase has just re-signed with the Waratahs till the end of 2024. After his spectacular try finish last week. Nawaqanitawase will be joined in the back three by Dylan Pietsch and Max Jorgensen.


1 Te Tera Faulkner (Southern Districts / Moorabin Rams / Marist College Canberra)

2 David Porecki (Manly / Manly Roos / Redlands)

3 Harry Johnson-Holmes (Sydney Uni / Cowra Eagles / Merewether High School)

4 Jed Holloway (Southern Districts / Yamba Buccaneers / Waverley College)

5 Hugh Sinclair (Northern Suburbs / Lindfield / SHORE)

6 Will Harris (Eastern Suburbs / Hunters Hill Juniors / Scots College)

7 Michael Hooper (Manly / Manly Roos / St Pius X College)

8 Langi Gleeson (Manly / Harbord Harlequins / St Augustine’s College)

9 Jake Gordon © (Sydney Uni / Canterbury / Blackwattle Bay)

10 Ben Donaldson (Randwick / Clovelly Eagles / Waverly College)

11 Dylan Pietsch (Randwick / Leeton Phantoms / Kings School)

12 Joey Walton (Gordon / Warnervale Wildcats / Wadalba High School)

13 Izaia Perese (Randwick / Aspley State School / Anglican Church Grammar)

14 Mark Nawaqanitawase (Eastwood / St Patrick’s College)

15 Max Jorgensen (Randwick / Balmain Juniors / St Joseph’s College)


16 Mahe Vailanu (Gordon / Melbourne Harlequins / Auckland Grammar)

17 Nephi Leatigaga (Randwick / Manurewa Rugby Club / Menurewa High School)

18 Archer Holz (Eastern Suburbs / Kings School)

19 Ned Hanigan (Randwick / Coonamble Rams / St Joseph’s College)

20 Taleni Seu (Southern Districts / Grammar Tech / Onehunga High School)

21 Charlie Gamble (Eastern Suburbs / Saracens / St Bede’s College)

22 Teddy Wilson (Eastern Suburbs / Harbord Harlequins / Kings School)

23 Harry Wilson (Eastwood /Harbord Harlequins / St Augustine’s College)

Players unavailable for selection:

Angus Bell – Toe (Season)

Daniel Botha- Foot (Round 14)

Jack Bowen- Shoulder (Round 14)

Lalakai Foketi- Ankle (Round 14)

Tane Edmed – Back (Round 14)

Tom Lambert – Knee (Round 14)

Will Harrison - ACL (Season)

Zac Von Appen – TBC

Zane Marolt – Fractured cheekbone (Season)

Players Available for Charter Hall Shute Shield

Ben Dowling (Randwick)

Harrison Goddard (Gordon)

Hunter Ward (Manly)

Mosese Tuipulotu (Eastern Suburbs)

Nemani Nadolo (Two Blues)

Sateki Latu (Warringah)

Tiaan Tauakipulu (Gordon)

Tolu Latu (Western Sydney)

Match Details – Double Header @ Allianz Stadium, Moore Park

Saturday 20 May

5:00pm [AEST] – Buildcorp Wallaroos v Fijiana

7:30pm [AEST] - NSW Waratahs v Fijian Drua

Tickets at Ticketek