Team News - Waratahs name unchanged starting XV to face Reds

Thu, May 4, 2023, 1:55 AM
Waratahs Media
by Waratahs Media
Jake Gordon leads the Waratahs out onto Allianz Stadium against the Highlanders
Jake Gordon leads the Waratahs out onto Allianz Stadium against the Highlanders

The NSW Waratahs have named their team to face the Reds in Round 11 of the Harvey Norman Super Rugby Pacific competition.

Waratahs Head Coach Darren Coleman has named the same starting XV in consecutive matches for the first time this season and made just one change to his bench.

David Porecki, who led the defensive effort last week against the Highlanders with 16 tackles, joins Harry Johnson-Holmes and Te Tera Faulkner in an all-Wallaby front row.

The competitions leading lineout winner Jed Holloway (60) partners Hugh Sinclair in the second row.

Langi Gleeson, who made a welcome return from a calf injury with an impressive 40 minutes against the Highlanders, joins Michael Hooper and Taleni Seu in the backrow. Gleeson is averaging close to 120 run metres per 80 minutes of rugby, the 6th most by any player in the competition, and the most by any forward.

Jake Gordon continues his all-Wallaby partnership with Ben Donaldson in the halves, while Lalakai Foketi resumes his devastating combination with Izaia Perese in the midfield. Gordon is currently on 25 tries, the equal 8th most for the Waratahs, alongside Lachlan Turner.

Mark Nawaqanitawase who leads the team in carries (71), run metres (601), offloads (12) and defenders beaten (30) is joined in the back three by Dylan Pietsch and Max Jorgensen.

Coleman has made just the one change to his bench with Harry Wilson returning to the side after missing last week through HIA protocols.

Mahe Vailanu, who scored the match winning try against the Highlanders last week, will provide plenty of impact off the bench.

Darren Coleman said: “We’re happy with the result last week but are still searching for an 80-minute performance which we’ll need against a dangerous Reds’ outfit away in Queensland.”

“Our rivalry with the Reds is one of the oldest and fiercest in Australian sports and we can’t wait to get up to Townsville.

“They’ve had the wood on us for the past couple of years and with the ladder as congested as it is, this match is almost worth double points so we’re definitely cognisant of the importance of this match.”


1 Te Tera Faulkner (Southern Districts/ Moorabin Rams/ Marist College Canberra) 2 Dave Porecki (Manly/ Manly Roos/ Redlands) 3 Harry Johnson-Holmes (Sydney Uni/ Cowra Eagles/ Merewether High School) 4 Jed Holloway (Southern Districts/ Yamba Buccaneers/ Waverley College) 5 Hugh Sinclair (Northern Suburbs/ Lindfield/ SHORE) 6 Taleni Seu (Southern Districts/ Grammar Tech/ Onehunga High School) 7 Michael Hooper (Manly/ Manly Roos/ St Pius X College) 8 Langi Gleeson (Manly/ Harbord Harlequins/ St Augustine’s College) 9 Jake Gordon © (Sydney Uni/ Canterbury/ Blackwattle Bay) 10 Ben Donaldson (Randwick/ Clovelly Eagles/ Waverly College) 11 Dylan Pietsch (Randwick/ Leeton Phantoms/ Kings School) 12 Lalakai Foketi (Manly/ Manly Roos/ Kings School) 13 Izaia Perese (Randwick/ Aspley State School/ Anglican Church Grammar) 14 Mark Nawaqanitawase (Eastwood/ St Patrick’s College) 15 Max Jorgensen (Randwick/ Balmain Juniors/ St Joseph’s College) Replacements: 16 Mahe Vailanu (Gordon/ Melbourne Harlequins/ Auckland Grammar) 17 Nephi Leatigaga (Randwick/ Manurewa Rugby Club/ Manurewa High School) 18 Daniel Botha (Sydney Uni/ Mosman/ Scots College) 19 Will Harris (Eastern Suburbs/ Hunters Hill Juniors/ Scots College) 20 Charlie Gamble (Eastern Suburbs/ Saracens/ St Bede’s College) 21 Harrison Goddard (Gordon/ Dural/ Oakhill College) 22 Harry Wilson (Eastwood/Harbord Harlequins/ St Augustine’s College)

23 Joey Walton (Gordon/ Warnervale Wildcats/ Wadalba High School)

Players unavailable for selection: Angus Bell – Toe (Season) Ned Hanigan – Concussion (Round 12+) Nemani Nadolo – Knee (Round 13+) Tane Edmed – Back (Round 12+) Tom Lambert – Knee (Round 12+) Will Harrison - ACL (Season)

Players Available for Shute Shield Archer Holz (Eastern Suburbs) Ben Dowling (Randwick) Jack Bowen (Eastern Suburbs) Mosese Tuipulotu (Eastern Suburbs) Sateki Latu (Warringah) Teddy Wilson (Eastern Suburbs) Tiaan Tauakipulu (Randwick) Zac Von Appen (Sydney Uni) Zane Marolt (Eastern Suburbs)

Match Details NSW Waratahs v Reds Saturday 6 May – Queensland Country Bank Stadium, Townsville Kick-off 7:35 pm AEST Live on 9GEM and Stan Sport