Team News - Waratahs ready to rumble with Rebels

Thu, May 11, 2023, 1:55 AM
Waratahs Media
by Waratahs Media

The NSW Waratahs have named their team to face the Rebels in Round 12 of the Harvey Norman Super Rugby Pacific competition.

Waratahs Head Coach Darren Coleman has made just the one change to his starting team that defeated the Reds last week in Townsville.

The front-row remains the same with David Porecki joining Harry Johnson-Holmes and Te Tera Faulkner in an all-Wallaby front row.

Hugh Sinclair, who led the team in tackles against the Reds (20), partners the competitions leading lineout winner Jed Holloway (69) in the second row.

Will Harris is the only change to the starting team, replacing Taleni Seu at blindside flanker, joining Langi Gleeson and Michael Hooper in the backrow. Seu came off the field at half-time against the Reds with a minor shoulder complaint and was ruled out late in the week.

Gleeson was again impressive for the Waratahs, leading the team for carries against the Reds (12), and is averaging the 3rd most run metres per 80 minutes in the competition (115.6) - the most by any forward.

Jake Gordon continues his all-Wallaby partnership with Ben Donaldson in the halves, while Lalakai Foketi, fresh off scoring one of the tries of the season, partners Izaia Perese in the midfield.

Mark Nawaqanitawase who leads the team in carries (76), run metres (640), offloads (13) and defenders beaten (32) is joined in the back three by Dylan Pietsch and Max Jorgensen.

Coleman has made two changes to his bench with Teddy Wilson and Ola Tauelangi joining the match day 23.

Ola Tauelangi, a strong performer for Gordon in the Shute Shield who has spent the past two pre-seasons with the Waratahs, will get the opportunity to make his debut off the bench with Taleni Seu ruled out.

Darren Coleman said: “We’re excited to return to Allianz Stadium off back-to-back wins, and ready to put in another strong performance for our fans at home. We’ve got three of our last four matches there and are keen to make it a real fortress for us and our supporters.”

“I feel we’re building towards the business end of the competition but still have a lot more to offer. We’ve got a lot of respect for the Rebels, they play a fast brand of rugby off the back of Carter Gordon, so we’re ready for the challenge of trying to shut them down.”


1 Te Tera Faulkner (Southern Districts/ Moorabin Rams/ Marist College Canberra)

2 David Porecki (Manly/ Manly Roos/ Redlands)

3 Harry Johnson-Holmes (Sydney Uni/ Cowra Eagles/ Merewether High School)

4 Jed Holloway (Southern Districts/ Yamba Buccaneers/ Waverley College)

5 Hugh Sinclair (Northern Suburbs/ Lindfield/ SHORE)

6 Will Harris (Eastern Suburbs/ Hunters Hill Juniors/ Scots College)

7 Michael Hooper (Manly/ Manly Roos/ St Pius X College)

8 Langi Gleeson (Manly/ Harbord Harlequins/ St Augustine’s College)

9 Jake Gordon © (Sydney Uni/ Canterbury/ Blackwattle Bay)

10 Ben Donaldson (Randwick/ Clovelly Eagles/ Waverly College)

11 Dylan Pietsch (Randwick/ Leeton Phantoms/ Kings School)

12 Lalakai Foketi (Manly/ Manly Roos/ Kings School)

13 Izaia Perese (Randwick/ Aspley State School/ Anglican Church Grammar)

14 Mark Nawaqanitawase (Eastwood/ St Patrick’s College)

15 Max Jorgensen (Randwick/ Balmain Juniors/ St Joseph’s College)


16 Mahe Vailanu (Gordon/ Melbourne Harlequins/ Auckland Grammar)

17 Nephi Leatigaga (Randwick/ Manurewa Rugby Club/ Manurewa High School)

18 Archer Holz (Eastern Suburbs/ Kings School)

19 Ola Tauelangi (Gordon, St Patricks's College Ballarat)

20 Charlie Gamble (Eastern Suburbs/ Saracens/ St Bede’s College)

21 Teddy Wilson (Eastern Suburbs/ Harbord Harlequins/ Kings School)

22 Joey Walton (Gordon/ Warnervale Wildcats/ Wadalba High School)

23 Harry Wilson (Eastwood/Harbord Harlequins/ St Augustine’s College)

Players unavailable for selection:

Angus Bell – Toe (Season) Ned Hanigan – Concussion (Round 13+) Nemani Nadolo – Knee (Round 13+) Taleni Seu – Shoulder (Round 13 Tane Edmed – Back (Round 13+) Tom Lambert – Knee (Round 13+) Will Harrison - ACL (Season) Zac Von Appen - TBC Zane Marolt – Fractured cheek bone (Season)

Players Available for Shute Shield

Ben Dowling (Randwick) Harrison Goddard (Gordon) Jack Bowen (Eastern Suburbs) Mosese Tuipulotu (Eastern Suburbs) Sateki Latu (Warringah) Tiaan Tauakipulu (Gordon) Tolu Latu (Western Sydney)