Team News - Waratahs set for their clash against Crusaders

Thu, May 25, 2023, 1:59 AM
Waratahs Media
by Waratahs Media

The NSW Waratahs have named their team to take on the Crusaders in Round 14 of the Harvey Norman Super Rugby Pacific competition.

Waratahs Head Coach Darren Coleman has made three changes to his starting team that defeated Fijian Drua last week in Sydney.

The front row remains the same for the fifth week in a row, with David Porecki joining Harry Johnson-Holmes and Te Tera Faulkner in an all-Wallaby front row.

Hugh Sinclair and Jed Holloway continue their partnership in the second row.

Taleni Seu and Charlie Gamble are the only changes in the starting forwards. Seu returns after overcoming a minor shoulder injury, he will replace Will Harris who will revert back to the bench. Gamble will replace Michael Hooper.

Langi Gleeson will resume at number eight. Gleeson was impressive again for the Waratahs last week, grabbing a try of his own whilst notching 9 carries for 84 metres.

Captain Jake Gordon and Ben Donaldson continue their all-Wallaby partnership in the halves.

Mosese Tuipulotu will look to make his run-on debut at inside centre this weekend. Tuipulotu replaces Izaia Perese who left the field late into the second half against Drua with a back spasm. Joey Walton will move to outside centre.

Mark Nawaqanitwase and Dylan Pietsch return to their wings this weekend, both were influential in the victory against Drua. Pietsch grabbed a try whilst Nawaqanitwase grabbed a double.

Max Jorgensen, who led the team in carries (11) and run metres (107) last week will continue at full-back.

Coleman has made three changes to his bench with Harrison Goddard, Tom Lambert and Tane Edmed returning to the match on day 23.

Goddard returns from the Shute Shield where he has been putting together some strong performances for Gordon, including a hat-trick last week against Sydney University.

Lambert comes in for an injured Archer Holz and Tane Edmed will look to make his much-awaited return. Edmed has been sidelined since round five due to a back injury.

Darren Coleman said: “We’ve been satisfied with the progress we have made the last 4 weeks as a team.

"It’s a perfect time for us now to test ourselves in one of the hardest road trips in Super Rugby. We have upmost respect for the Crusaders and know we’ll need to play our best match of the season to be in the contest.We cant wait,

There’s been much public comment around RA resting protocols.

Michael Hooper genuinely needs a break to be ready for a playoff run. Charlie Gamble will be more than ready for his chance. Other than Hoops, we have selected the strongest possible team we can and are going there to win”


1 Te Tera Faulkner (Southern Districts/ Moorabin Rams/ Marist College Canberra)

2 David Porecki (Manly/ Manly Roos/ Redlands)

3 Harry Johnson-Holmes (Sydney Uni/ Cowra Eagles/ Merewether High School)

4 Jed Holloway (Southern Districts/ Yamba Buccaneers/ Waverley College)

5 Hugh Sinclair (Northern Suburbs/ Lindfield/ SHORE)

6 Taleni Seu (Southern Districts/ Grammar Tech/ Onehunga High School)

7 Charlie Gamble (Eastern Suburbs/ Saracens/ St Bede’s College)

8 Langi Gleeson (Manly/ Harbord Harlequins/ St Augustine’s College)

9 Jake Gordon © (Sydney Uni/ Canterbury/ Blackwattle Bay)

10 Ben Donaldson (Randwick/ Clovelly Eagles/ Waverly College)

11 Dylan Pietsch (Randwick/ Leeton Phantoms/ Kings School)

12 Mosese Tuipulotu (Eastern Suburbs/ Southern Districts (VIC) / St Kevin’s College


13 Joey Walton (Gordon/ Warnervale Wildcats/ Wadalba High School)

14 Mark Nawaqanitawase (Eastwood/ St Patrick’s College)

15 Max Jorgensen (Randwick/ Balmain Juniors/ St Joseph’s College)


16 Mahe Vailanu (Gordon/ Melbourne Harlequins/ Auckland Grammar)

17 Nephi Leatigaga (Randwick/ Manurewa Rugby Club/ Manurewa High School)

18 Tom Lambert (Sydney Uni/ West Juniors/ Trinity Grammar)

19 Ned Hanigan (Randwick / Coonamble Rams / St Joseph’s College)

20 Will Harris (Eastern Suburbs/ Hunters Hill Juniors/ Scots College)

21 Harrison Goddard (Gordon/ Dural/ Oakhill College)

22 Tane Edmed (Eastwood/ Trinity Grammar)

23 Harry Wilson (Eastwood/Harbord Harlequins/ St Augustine’s College)

Players unavailable for selection:

Daniel Botha – Foot (Round 15)

Jack Bowen- Aust. 20s (Playoffs)

Teddy Wilson – Aust 20s (Playoffs)

Lalakai Foketi- Ankle (Round 15+)

Izaia Perese – Back (Round 15)

Angus Bell – Toe (Season)

Will Harrison - ACL (Season)

Zac Von Appen – TBC

Michael Hooper – Rest (Round 15)

Archer Holz - shoulder (Round 15)

Lachie Swinton – suspension (Round 15)

Players Available for Shute Shield

Ben Dowling (Randwick)

Hunter Ward (Manly)

Nemani Nadolo (Two Blues)

Sateki Latu (Warringah)

Tiaan Tauakipulu (Gordon)

Zane Marolt (Eastern Suburbs)

Match Details

Saturday 27th May

Orangetheory Stadium, Christchurch

Kick-off: 2:35 PM (AEST)