Teams News: Waratahs unveil team for Super Round clash with Drua

Thu, Mar 2, 2023, 12:58 AM
Waratahs Media
by Waratahs Media
Langi Gleeson in action against the Brumbies
Langi Gleeson in action against the Brumbies

The NSW Waratahs have named their team to face the Fijian Drua for round two of the Harvey Norman Super Rugby Pacific competition.

Waratahs Head Coach Darren Coleman has made three changes to his forward pack while naming an unchanged backline from the team that took on the Brumbies last weekend.

Tom Lambert, who led the team in carries against the Brumbies, has been named at loosehead prop to replace the injured Angus Bell, with David Porecki and Archer Holz completing the front-row.

Hugh Sinclair has been recalled to the starting side in the second row alongside Jed Holloway, with Taleni Seu reverting to the bench.

Wallaby flanker Langi Gleeson, who made an impact late in the game against the Brumbies, starts a number eight, with Michael Hooper and Lachlan Swinton rounding out an impressive back row.

Jake Gordon and Tane Edmed resume their partnership in the halves while Lalakai Foketi and Izaia Perese again link up in the midfield.

Max Jorgensen, fresh off a two-try Super Rugby Pacific debut last weekend, has been named on the wing, joining Wallabies Ben Donaldson and Mark Nawaqanitawase in the back three.

Darren Coleman has once again named a six-two split on his bench and will look to get plenty of impact from Charlie Gamble and Will Harris late in the game.

Tolu Latu is set to play his first Super Rugby match for the Waratahs in 1365 days, while NSW Waratahs Academy products Daniel Botha and Ben Dowling are both in line to make their Super Rugby debuts.

Waratahs Head Coach Darren Coleman said: “The changes in the forward pack are an indication of some of the tactical things we are trying to do, in and around our set piece and maul.”

“We’re still working hard to find our best balanced and performing back row, while Tom Lambert did a great job in stepping up for Angus Bell and will have to carry a big portion of the load going forward.

“The team is excited for Dan Botha and Ben Dowling and their potential debuts. They’ve come through our pathways and academy, and it’s always pleasing to see players graduate into fully-fledged Super Rugby players.”

The Waratahs take on the Fijian Drua in the headline match of Super Round on

Saturday night kicking off at 7:35 pm, live on 9Gem and Stan Sport.


1 Tom Lambert (Sydney Uni/ Wests Juniors/ Trinity Grammar)

2 Dave Porecki (Manly/ Manly Roos/ Redlands)

3 Archer Holz (Eastern Suburbs/ Kings School)

4 Jed Holloway (Southern Districts/ Yamba Buccaneers/ Waverly College)

5 Hugh Sinclair (Northern Suburbs/ Lindfield/ S.H.O.R.E)

6 Lachlan Swinton(Sydney Uni/ Wahroonga Tigers/ Knox Grammar School)

7 Michael Hooper (Manly/ Manly Roos/ St Pius X College)

8 Langi Gleeson (Manly, Harbord Harlequins/ St Augustines)

9 Jake Gordon © (Sydney Uni/ Canterbury/ Blackwattle Bay)

10 Tane Edmed (Eastwood/ Trinity Grammar)

11 Max Jorgensen (Randwick/ Balmain Juniors/ St Joseph’s College)

12 Lalakai Foketi (Manly/ Manly Roos/ Kings)

13 Izaia Perese (Randwick/ Aspley State School/ Anglican Church Grammar)

14 Mark Nawaqanitawase (Eastwood/ St Patrick’s College)

15 Ben Donaldson (Randwick/ Clovelly Eagles/ Waverly College)

REPLACEMENTS 16 Tolu Latu (Western Sydney/ Canterbury/South Sydney High)

17 Te Tera Faulkner (Southern Districts/ Moorabbin Rams/ Marist College Canberra)

18 Daniel Botha (Sydney University/ Mosman/ Scots College) *

19 Taleni Seu (Southern Districts/ Grammar Tech/ Onehunga High School)

20 Will Harris (Eastern Suburbs/ Hunters Hill/ Scots College)

21 Charlie Gamble (Eastern Suburbs/ Saracens/ St Bede’s College)

22 Harrison Goddard (Gordon, Dural, Oakhill College) #

23 Ben Dowling (Randwick/ Chatswood/ St Joseph’s College) *

* Super Rugby debut

# NSW Waratahs Super Rugby debut

Players unavailable for selection: Angus Bell – Toe (Season) Dylan Pietsch – Quad (Round 3) Harry Johnson-Holmes – Achilles (Round 3-4) Joey Walton – Back (Round 3) Ned Hanigan – Knee (Round 3-4) Tiaan Tauakipulu – Knee (Round 3) Will Harrison – Knee (Round 3)

Match Details NSW Waratahs v Fijian Drua Saturday 4 March – AAMI Park, Melbourne Kick-off 7:35 pm AEDT Live on Stan Sport and 9GEM