Thank You - Waratahs farewell departing players

Fri, Jul 22, 2022, 9:30 AM
Waratahs Media
by Waratahs Media
The Waratahs have farewelled several players at their end of season awards night
The Waratahs have farewelled several players at their end of season awards night

The NSW Waratahs will farewell and celebrate the important contribution of many of the 2022 playing squad at their end-of-season awards night tonight.

Darren Coleman’s side was the surprise packet of the 2022 Super Rugby Pacific season, winning eight of their 14 regular season matches and qualifying for the finals for the first time since 2018.

Coleman used 40 players during his campaign, with several departing the side and taking opportunities abroad for 2023 and beyond.

Alex Newsome swaps Sydney for France where he will play with Clermont in the French Top 14. Newsome has been a mainstay of the side since arriving from the Western Force notching up 71 caps, including playing every minute of the past two seasons and captaining the side during Jake Gordon’s absence in 2021.

Triston Reilly has joined the Wests Tigers in the NRL while James Ramm has linked up with the Northampton Saints in England.

Jeremy Williams will head west and link up with former Waratahs Assistant Coach Simon Cron at the Western Force.

British and Irish Lions and Wales Test legend Jamie Roberts has announced his retirement from rugby, with the Waratahs finals loss to the Chiefs in Hamilton his last professional match.

Waratahs’ flanker Carlo Tizzano and scrumhalf Jack Grant have joined Ealing Trailfinders in the second division of the Premiership in the UK.

Ruan Smith has headed back to South Africa to link up with his twin brother JP at the Lions in Johannesburg, while lock Geoff Cridge has returned home to New Zealand.

Waratahs Head Coach Darren Coleman was sad to see the departure of so many players who played a big part in his debut Super Rugby campaign.

“All of these guys played a big role in turning the club around and the successes we’ve had this season,” Coleman said

“They are all dedicated professionals, but most importantly good blokes, and I wish them nothing but success in their future careers.”

Waratahs 2022 Departing players

Carlo Tizzano (Ealing Trailfinders), Henry Robertson (TBC), Hugh Bokenham (TBC), Geoff Cridge (TBC), Jack Grant (Ealing Trailfinders), James Ramm (Northampton Saints), Jamie Roberts (retired), Jeremy Williams (Western Force), Max Douglas (TBC), Ruan Smith (Lions), Tevita Funa (TBC), Triston Reilly (Wests Tigers - NRL)

RECAP: Australian Rugby Shield - Rolling Day 3 Coverage
RECAP: Australian Rugby Shield - Rolling Day 2 Coverage
9 Waratahs to feature in Wallaroos team to face Black Fearns
13 NSW Waratahs feature in Australian Schools & U18S Side