Waratahs Academy sides ready for round three clash with Rebels

Thu, Oct 20, 2022, 10:26 PM
Waratahs Media
by Waratahs Media

The NSW Waratahs have confirmed the U16 and U19 sides for Round 3 of the National Championships to be held at Waratahs HQ this Sunday at the University of NSW David Philips Sports Complex at Daceyville.

After a second consecutive week of clean sweep victories in the U16, and U19 age groups against the Brumbies last weekend, the Waratahs Academy teams now turn their attention to the Rebels.

The Waratahs U16 side put in a dominant performance against their Canberra counterparts running out 51-10 winners, while the U19s also raised the bat with a half century of points, winning 55-15.

The Rebels also went two from two last weekend defeating the Western Force 19-17 in the U16s and 14-10 in the U19s.

Waratahs Pathways Coordinator Matt Evrard was delighted with how both Waratahs teams managed to overcome slow starts against the Brumbies.

“I was happy with the U16s, and how they got through a real grind of a game early on,” Evrard said.

“Some of these games are quite difficult to manage when things aren’t going your way at the start, you’re conceding penalties, there are new combinations, and there are a few dropped balls.

“For them to come through that period, score some quickfire tries, and really put the Brumbies to the sword, shows the quality of the team and the damage they can inflict in a short period of time. When they’re on, they’re really on.

“Our U19s, despite conceding the first try, probably managed the start better against the Brumbies than the U16s and handled the grind better.

“Once they got through the first ten minutes and worked out how physical the Brumbies were, they were able to pick them apart on the edges, score tries at will, stayed really focused, and didn’t let up for the whole match.

“Despite winning two weeks of clean sweeps, our guys won’t be taking the Rebels lightly this weekend, they also had two good wins last week and have named really strong teams in both the U16 and U19s.”

All matches will be shown live, ad-free, and on-demand on Stan Sport.

NSW Waratahs U16s team v Rebels U16s – 1:30pm AEDT

1 Daniel Christodoulou (Sydney Juniors, West Harbour)

2 Max Meagher (NSW Schools (CAS), Trinity Grammar School)

3 Edwin Langi (NSW Schools (GPS), The Kings School)

4 Henry Siegmeier (NSW Schools (GPS), St Joseph’s College)

5 Toby Brial (NSW Schools (GPS), The Scots College)

6 Luca Cleverley (Sydney Juniors, Randwick)

7 Marshall Le Maitre © (NSW Schools (GPS), Shore School)

8 Ollie Aboud (Sydney Juniors, Randwick)

9 Sam Blank (NSW Schools (ISA), St Augustine’s)

10 Alex Conti (NSW Schools (ISA), St Patrick’s College)

11 Charlie Poynton (NSW Schools (CAS), Barker College)

12 Joe Walsh (vc) (Sydney Juniors, Manly Rugby Club)

13 Leo Jaques (NSW Schools (GPS), The Scots College)

14 Charlie Heidke (NSW Country, Illawarra)

15 Mitch Woods (NSW Schools (ISA), St Patrick’s College)

16 Connor Dempsey (Sydney Juniors, Northern Suburbs)

17 Nick Hill (NSW Schools (CAS), Barker College)

18 Tyler Byrne (NSW Schools (CHS), Kooringal High School)

19 Zion Poitaha (NSW Schools (CAS), Waverley College)

20 Daniel Meafou (NSW Schools (CCC), Edmund Rice College)

21 Darcy Brown (NSW Country, Hunter)

22 Zach Fittler (NSW Schools (GPS), The Scots College)

23 Tylan Berryman (NSW Schools (CHS), Narrabeen Sports High School)

NSW Waratahs U19s team v Rebels U19s - 3:00pm AEDT

1 Ave Maalo (West Harbour)

2 Lulu Paea (Manly)

3 Henry Roberts (Sydney University)

4 Oskar Hicks (Sydney University)

5 Fritz Jahnke-Tavana (Southern Districts)

6 Clem Halaholo (Sydney University)

7 Will Martin (Sydney University)

8 Sam Allsopp (Sydney University)

9 Dan Nelson (Sydney University)

10 Jack Bowen (Eastern Suburbs)

11 Omar Nouradine (Eastwood)

12 Charlie Worthington (Randwick)

13 Jackson Ropata (Southern Districts)

14 Tom Morrison (Sydney University)

15 Jack Matthews (Sydney University)

16 Harvey McGregor (Eastern Suburbs)

17 Jamie Clark (Sydney University)

18 Jayden Moujalli (Eastwood)

19 Jackson Knight (Gordon)

20 Philip Talaileva (Eastwood)

21 Tom Goddard (Eastwood)

22 Paulie Manuel (West Harbour)

23 Riley Hemsworth (Eastwood)