Log in

Waratahs name team for clash with Hurricanes at Leichhardt Oval

Wed, 11/05/2022, 7:00 am
Waratahs Media
by Waratahs Media
Ned Hanigan has been named on the bench for this weekend's clash with the Hurricanes
Ned Hanigan has been named on the bench for this weekend's clash with the Hurricanes

The NSW Waratahs have named their team to face the Hurricanes in Round 13 of the Harvey Norman Super Rugby Pacific competition.

Waratahs Head Coach Darren Coleman has named an unchanged backline but added one new face to his forward pack and two Wallabies to his bench to the side that defeated Moana Pasifika at Mt Smart Stadium last weekend.

After an impressive starting debut against Moana, Archer Holz remains in the starting front packing down with Angus Bell and Dave Porecki.

Hugh Sinclair is the only change to the starting side, named in the second row alongside Jed Holloway who leads the competition in lineout wins (52).

Charlie Gamble remains at openside flanker in Michael Hooper’s absence, allowing Will Harris and Rahboni Warren-Vosayaco to form an abrasive back-row.

Jake Gordon continues to develop his partnership in the halves with Tane Edmed, while Izaia Perese, fresh off seven tackle busts and a try against Moana, has been named in the centres with Lalakai Foketi.

Alex Newsome, Dylan Pietsch and Mark Nawaqanitawase round out the side in the back-three. In a huge boost to the side, Darren Coleman has welcomed back two Wallabies to the team via the bench.

Ned Hanigan makes his long-awaited return to the Waratahs after finishing his commitments in Japan with Kurita Water Gush, while Paddy Ryan joins the side on an injury cover contract in place of Harry Johnson-Holmes.

Waratahs Head Coach Darren Coleman was excited to have two experienced players to inject into the side for such an important match.

“It’s great on a few fronts to have Ned and Paddy back,” Coleman said.

“Ned obviously we were expecting and planning for, it was just a matter of where and when whereas Paddy came on the radar late once we lost Harry Johnson-Holmes.

“Both are really proud New South Welshmen, both proud country boys who I have had a long association with, so it was a no brainer bringing them straight in. I knew they wouldn’t detract from the culture but more so add to it.

“Going into such a big game and having those two on the bench gives us a little more depth and bang at the back half of the game, and I’m excited to see how they go.”


1 Angus Bell (Sydney Uni/ Hunters Hill/ Newington College)

2 Dave Porecki (Manly/ Manly Roos/ Redlands)

3 Archer Holz (Eastern Suburbs/ Kings School)

4 Jed Holloway (Southern Districts/ Yamba Buccaneers/ Waverley College)

5 Hugh Sinclair (Northern Suburbs/ Lindfield/ S.H.O.R.E)

6 Will Harris (Eastern Suburbs/ Hunters Hill/ Scots College)

7 Charlie Gamble (Eastern Suburbs/ Saracens/ St Bede’s College)

8 Rahboni Warren-Vosayaco (Southern Districts/ Endeavour Sports High)

9 Jake Gordon (Sydney Uni/ Canterbury/ Blackwattle Bay)

10 Tane Edmed (Eastwood/ Trinity Grammar)

11 Dylan Pietsch (Randwick/ Leeton Phantoms/ Kings School)

12 Lalakai Foketi (Manly/ Manly Roos/ Kings)

13 Izaia Perese (Randwick/ Aspley State School/ Anglican Church Grammar)

14 Mark Nawaqanitawase (Eastwood/ St Patrick’s College)

15 Alex Newsome (Eastern Suburbs/ Glen Innes Elks/ St Joseph’s College)


16 Mahe Vailanu (Gordon/ Auckland Grammar School)

17 Te Tera Faulkner (Southern Districts/ Moorabin Rams/ Marist College Canberra)

18 Paddy Ryan (Sydney University/ Tamworth Tricolours/ St Joseph’s College)

19 Ned Hanigan (Randwick/ Coonamble Rams/ St Joseph’s College)

20 Langi Gleeson (Manly/ Harbord Harlequins/ St Augustines)

21 Jack Grant (Eastern Suburbs/ Orange City Lions/ St Ignatius College)

22 Ben Donaldson (Randwick/ Clovelly Eagles/ Waverly College)

23 Triston Reilly (Randwick/ Kempsey Cannonballs/ St Joseph’s College)

Players unavailable for selection:

Harry Johnson-Holmes – Knee (Rd 15+)

James Ramm – Ankle (Rd 15+)

Joey Walton – ACL (Season)

Lachlan Swinton - Shoulder (TBC)

Michael Hooper – Head (Rd 14)

Will Harrison – ACL, MCL (season)

Players available for Shute Shield

Carlo Tizzano (West Harbour)

Henry Robertson (Sydney Uni)

Hugh Bokenham (Sydney Uni)

Jeremy Williams (Eastern Suburbs)

Max Douglas (Manly)

Mosese Tuipulotu (Eastern Suburbs)

Tevita Funa (Western Sydney)

Tiaan Tauakipulu (Randwick)

Tom Horton (Sydney Uni)

Match Details NSW Waratahs v Hurricanes Saturday 14 May -  Leichhardt Oval, Lilyfield Kick-off 7:45pm AEST Live on 9GEM and Stan Sport