Log in

Waratahs U16 Gen Blue squad announced for National Super Rugby U16 competition

Thu, 04/08/2022, 3:10 am
Waratahs Media
by Waratahs Media
Sam Niulala in action for Sydney U16's
Sam Niulala in action for Sydney U16's

The NSW Waratahs Gen Blue U16 team has been selected to compete in the National Super Rugby U16 competition which features matches against all other Australian Super Rugby Franchises with a National Final scheduled between the top two sides.

Selectors named the squad on Monday following a lengthy selection process culminating with the City v NSW Country Championships held at Bathurst last weekend.

The Waratahs Gen Blue U16 team will be made up of the very best U16 Rugby players from anywhere in NSW, with the program a vital early steppingstone in the Waratahs pathways program.

Waratahs Pathways Coordinator Matt Evrard said “The Gen Blue program is vital for player development and a steppingstone to becoming a Waratah.

“These matches provide a fantastic opportunity for these young men to gain exposure to a high-performance environment and the demands of becoming a professional player which is often thrust upon them straight out of school.

“We’re incredibly excited with the depth of our squad and are looking forward to competing against the other franchises.”

The squad will meet at the end of the month for an induction at Waratahs HQ at the UNSW David Philips Sports Complex at Daceyville in preparation for their first match against the Queensland Reds Academy on October 9 in Brisbane.

The under 16s will then play the Brumbies at Waratahs HQ on October 16, the Rebels at Waratahs HQ on October 23, and Western Force in Perth on November 5.

All matches will be double-headers with U19’s sides from each franchise also playing.

A final will be played on November 13 with a venue still yet to be confirmed.


Billy Hansen (NSW Schools (GPS), The Scots College) Daniel Christodoulou (Sydney Juniors, West Harbour) Daniel Meafou (NSW Schools (CCC), Edmund Rice College) Edwin Langi (NSW Schools (GPS), The Kings School) Harper Strachan (NSW Schools (AICES), Hunter Valley Grammar School) Heath Turner (NSW Schools (CAS), Knox Grammar) Henry Seigmeier (NSW Schools (GPS), St Joseph’s College) Connor Dempsey (Sydney Juniors, Northern Suburbs) Luca Cleverley (Sydney Juniors, Randwick) Luke Muriti (NSW Schools (ISA), Oakhill College) Marshall Le Maitre (NSW Schools (GPS), Shore School) Max Meaghger (NSW Schools (CAS), Trinity Grammar School) Nick Hill (NSW Schools (CAS), Barker College) Oliver Aboud (Sydney Juniors, Randwick) Sam Niulala (Sydney Juniors, Northern Suburbs) Toby Brial (NSW Schools (GPS), The Scots College) Tyler Byrne (Sydney Juniors, Manly) Zion Poitaha (NSW Schools (CAS), Waverley College)


Alex Conti (NSW Schools (ISA), St Patrick’s College) Casey McLean (NSW Schools (GPS), Newington College) Charlie Heidke (NSW Country, Illawarra) Charlie Poynton (NSW Schools (CAS), Barker College) Darcy Brown (NSW Country, Hunter) Tom Farr-Jones (Sydney Juniors, Randwick) Leo Jaques (NSW Schools (GPS), The Scots College) Matt Humphries (NSW Schools (GPS),Newington College) Mitchell Woods (NSW Schools (ISA), St Patrick’s College) Sam Blank (NSW Schools (ISA), St Augustine’s) Taite Howells (Sydney Juniors, Eastwood) Toby Rodwell (NSW Schools (GPS), Newington College) Tom Watts (NSW Schools (GPS), The Kings School) Tyler Berryman (NSW Schools (CHS), Narrabeen Sports High School) Zach Fittler (NSW Schools (GPS), The Scots College) Riley Evans (NSW Country, Mid North Coast)


James Warner (NSW Schools (GPS), Shore School) Joel Jacobs (NSW Schools (GPS), The Scots College) Nathaniel Thomas (NSW Schools (CAS), Barker College) Arthur Greer (NSW Schools (GPS), St Joseph’s College) Jed Smith (NSW Country, Hunter).


Max Soepono (NSW Schools (GPS), The Scots College) Tua Patea (NSW Schools (CAS), Waverley) John Cameron-Murphy (NSW Schools (ISA), St Andrews Cathedral School) Lance Tovio (NSW Schools (CAS), Cranbrook School)