Log in

NSW Waratahs crowned 2021 Buildcorp Super W Champions

Sat, 03/07/2021, 5:20 am
Waratahs Media
by Waratahs Media

The NSW Waratahs are crowned 2021 Buildcorp Super W Champions after defeating the Reds 45-12 at C.ex International Stadium, Coffs Harbour.


The Waratahs pick up their fourth straight title with this victory and keep their undefeated record intact.


The game began with plenty of intensity by the Reds, who posted first points after sustaining pressure in the Tahs’ 22.


It was Liz Patu who crashed over for the Reds from a rolling maul and while they failed to kick the conversion, it was a great start for them four minutes in.


The Waratahs had to weather the early storm but hit back only eight minutes later through none other than Maya Stewart, who was the beneficiary of brilliant lead up play by Arabella McKenzie and Mahalia Murphy.


A wrap-around play led by McKenzie held up the defenders just enough and the line ran by Murphy was perfect, before finding Stewart unmarked on the outside.


Eva Karpani was next on the scoresheet after burrowing over close to the line and then Margot Vella extended the Waratah lead further, after a long shift found the left winger in the corner untouched.


While the Waratahs led 19-5 at half time, they knew the job was not done remembering that the Reds won the second half between the two back in round one.


However, the second half started just as the first had finished, with the Waratahs on top.


Katrina Barker set the tone in defence with a brilliant jackle and from then the Tahs worked their way downfield and into Reds’ territory.


Arabella McKenzie opened the scoring in the second half when she sliced through off a scrum play, but the Reds refused to bow down answering back with a pick-and-go try from Bree-Anna Cheatham moments later.


While the Reds fought valiantly it was all the Tahs after that with tries to Mahalia Murphy, Emily Chancellor and then again to Margot Vella, who sealed the title with her double.


NSW Waratahs 45 (Tries; 2 M Vella, M Stewart, E Karpani, A McKenzie, M Murphy, E Chancellor Goals; 5 A McKenzie) def QLD Reds 12 (Tries; L Patu, B Cheatham Goal; L Lockhart)