Log in

Revised Super Rugby Pacific draw revealed

A revised version of the 2022 Super Rugby Pacific draw has been released today by joint venture partners New Zealand Rugby (NZR) and Rugby Australia (RA) with the previous draw made untenable due to border restrictions and isolation requirements entering New Zealand.

The new schedule retains the same competition format announced in November with a full round robin and single points table but will see the six New Zealand-based teams and six Australian based teams play their opening eight matches on different sides of the Tasman due to COVID-19 travel restrictions.

All 12 clubs will converge on Melbourne in Round 10 for a Super Round at AAMI Park creating a unique celebration of the ANZAC spirit with Trans-Tasman fixtures resuming in Round 11.

NSW Rugby fans will be treated to box office home fixtures in 2022 with the Waratahs set to face the three Super Rugby Champions crowned in 2021.

The Waratahs home matches are headlined by Champions the Reds (Super Rugby AU), Crusaders (Super Rugby Aotearoa) and Blues (Trans-Tasman) as well as a Hurricanes side stacked with All Blacks, traditional rivals the Rebels and Force and newcomers the Fijian Drua.

NSW Rugby Union (NSWRU) is working closely with Venues NSW to confirm venues for each of the Waratah’s fixtures, as they navigate a busy sporting schedule heavily impacted by the Sydney Football Stadium redevelopment and the existing NRL, AFL and A-Leagues draws for the 2022 season. NSWRU is aiming to be in a position to confirm venues as early as possible in the new year.

Waratahs 2022 ticket prices remain one of the most affordable in Sydney and continue to be the cheapest they have been for a decade with adult GA tickets priced at $20 and Cat 1 at $52, while membership packages start at just $34 for a two-game flexi adult membership, which includes a Waratahs ISC supporter hat and keyring.

In line with previous seasons all registered NSW junior players aged 16 and under will be able to attend Waratah’s home matches free of charge.

Waratahs 2022 memberships are on sale now, for more information head to https://nsw.rugby/experience/membership

NSW Waratahs 2022 Super Rugby Pacific draw:

Round 1: Waratahs v Fijian Drua, Friday 18 February, Venue TBC

Round 2: Waratahs v Reds, Friday 25 February, Venue TBC

Round 3: Brumbies v Waratahs, Saturday 5 March, GIO Stadium, Canberra

Round 4: Force v Waratahs, Friday 11 March, HBF Park, Perth

Round 5: Waratahs v Rebels, Saturday 19 March, Venue TBC

Round 6: Reds v Waratahs, Saturday 26 March, Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane

Round 7: Fijian Drua v Waratahs, Friday 1 April, Venue TBC

Round 8: BYE

Round 9: Waratahs v Force, Saturday 16 April, Venue TBC

Round 10: Chiefs v Waratahs, Friday 22 April, AAMI Park, Melbourne

Round 11: Waratahs v Crusaders, Saturday 30 April, Venue TBC

Round 12: Moana Pasifika v Waratahs, Saturday 7 May, Mt Smart Stadium, Auckland

Round 13: Waratahs v Hurricanes, Saturday 14 May, Venue TBC

Round 14: Highlanders v Waratahs, Sunday 22 May, Forsyth Barr Stadium, Dunedin

Round 15: Waratahs v Blues, Saturday 28 May, Venue TBC