Sydney Youth Referee Academy launched and squads announced for 2024

Wed, Dec 13, 2023, 2:04 AM
NSW Rugby
by NSW Rugby

Nearly forty young referees in Sydney are about to join NSWRU’s new youth match official development program, the Sydney Youth Referee Academy.

The Academy is a multi-year programme, open to boys and girls in Years 10 – 12. Academy manager Tom Chadwick said:

“The purpose of the Academy is to keep more young referees involved in the game for longer as well as to further develop their understanding of the game with more challenging education, presentations from Super Rugby and Shute Shield referees, and opportunities to attend tournaments such as the NSWJRU Junior State Championships.

Of course, none of this is possible without the support we have received from our partners, particularly The Rugby Club Foundation, NSW Rugby Referees Association (NSWRRA), Sydney West Rugby Referees Association (SWRRA) and Sydney North Rugby Referees (SNRR) and the Sydney Junior Rugby Union (SJRU).

It’s truly a whole of Rugby project in metropolitan Sydney and without that collaboration, the Youth Academy wouldn’t be possible.”

Paula Ward, Chair of Grants Committee, The Rugby Club Foundation said:

"The Foundation is proud to support the Sydney referee associations and SJRU in establishing the Academy aimed to keep more young referees involved in Rugby for longer.

This academy embodies the Foundation’s mission of Sharing the Spirit of the Game.”

NSWRU congratulates all the referees who have been selected and wishes them all the best for the 2024 season!

Year 12 Squad

Theodore Florentzos (SNRR), Hunter Eldridge (NSWRRA), Leilani Taufa (SWRRA), Fynn Carstens (SWRRA) Alexander Ingham (SWRRA), Isaac Sheriff (SNRR), Max Graham (NSWRRA), William Whitaker (NSWRRA), Tane Dolan (NSWRRA), Hugh Crakanthorp (NSWRRA), Jack Woodall (SNRR).

Squad Coach: Mitchell De Lorenzo.

Year 11 Squad

Samuel Kable (SWRRA), Harrison Davis (SNRR), Liam Fitzgerald (SWRRA), Myles Ashby (SNRR), Patrick Thomson (SWRRA), Julia O’Hare (SNRR), William Robson (SWRRA), Jack Riding (SNRR), Daniel Blacker (SNRR), Declan Fletcher (SWRRA), Dylan Tait (SNRR).

Squad Coach: Caitlin Winslade.

Year 10 Squad

Scott Manley (NSWRRA), Joe Hayes (SNRR), Jacob Evans (SNRR), Oscar Widdup (SNRR), Jacob Revill (SWRRA), Jackson Busch (SWRRA), Oscar Donnan (SNRR), Nicholas Rowley (NSWRRA), William Sims (SWRRA), William Powell (SNRR), William O’Farrell (SWRRA), Toby Long (SNRR), Elliot Snow (SNRR).

Squad Coach: Toby Brandon-Cooper


NSW Rugby are a proud part of Rugby AU

© 2024 Rugby Australia. All rights reserved. Part of the Rugby Network